• “Just being a mediocre driver has never been my ambition. That's not my style” ― Michael Schumacher
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dear Guest. Follow RaceDepartment on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Twitch, Steam and YouTube.

Tip for improving AI

Discussion in 'MotoGP 17' started by Jonix, Jun 16, 2017.

  1. Jonix

    Jonix

    Messages:
    889
    Ratings:
    +369
    Hey guys, I just wanted to share an idea on how to improve AI.

    The basic problem with AI is that it's not track-specific, which means that it's impossible to make it good for each track. But maybe there's a way to change it.

    Here are the steps:
    1) Make the AI generally challenging in every circuit, no matter if it's too challenging. The important thing is that you can reach a balance where it's fast in every circuit (no matter if by 0,5 tenths or by 4 seconds). It has to be faster than player in every circuit, not faster in some and slower in others. Don't worry if in some circuits is too fast compared to others, you'll fix this later.

    2) Adjust splines to correct distortions caused by a faster AI or to improve their racing lines (making change of directions faster or make them doing tighter lines)

    3) This is the real tip I'm giving you. Once you've made them fast everywhere, you can adjust them regarding each track. How? Take a look at VRTG skillscatalog. Some riders (like Rossi and Lorenzo) have a "FavouriteTrack" attribute. You can make one of those attributes for each track and for each rider, and simply slow down AI according to your needs. This way you can adjust AI to every track. These attributes are no longer used in MotoGP17, but I think if you copy paste them from VRTG they'll work.


    Hope someone will find this helpful, it's worth giving it a shot
     
  2. Vayte

    Vayte

    Messages:
    48
    Ratings:
    +11
    are you sure this will work? i remember playing arround with this favorite track modifier and i couldn´t see an effect when i was adding additional entrys. (in vrtg). Also, did a mod for vrtg change the complete splines? If so i missed it.
     
  3. Jonix

    Jonix

    Messages:
    889
    Ratings:
    +369
    Yeah I tried it two days ago on VRTG. I added a Catalunya attribute to Rossi and made him as slow as Miller. It worked just fine.

    About splines, yeah someone managed to edit them and wrote a guide about it. Giovaneveterano did some spline mods, included in his mod. Dyego also updated his BMLeditor to simplify the process of editing AI splines ;)
     
  4. Vayte

    Vayte

    Messages:
    48
    Ratings:
    +11
    Ok. I must have done something wrong back than. I did read that guide once and it stated it wouldn´t really work in Vrtg, only in 15.
     
  5. Giovaneveterano

    Giovaneveterano
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,362
    Ratings:
    +471
    It's a massive workaround. I hope it works.
    I'm no longer interested in the AI: my time has been wasted enough during the previous years
     
  6. Vayte

    Vayte

    Messages:
    48
    Ratings:
    +11
    understandable
     
  7. Jan Volenec

    Jan Volenec

    Messages:
    410
    Ratings:
    +162
    Guys I will release AI for Moto3 this weekend but AI is not everything.. The game should be played better with corrected tracks.. what I want to say is that some circuit need to have better or worse lap records than in real life because Milestone make Catalunya longer than Mugello etc :D
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Love Love x 1
  8. Nikki 2017

    Nikki 2017
    Banned

    Messages:
    183
    Ratings:
    +3
    Will you also release AI for motogp?
     
  9. Nikki 2017

    Nikki 2017
    Banned

    Messages:
    183
    Ratings:
    +3
    Clearly ignoring me for no reason. What a lack of manners.
     
    • Angry Angry x 2
  10. LeaderAsd

    LeaderAsd

    Messages:
    26
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know that everyone want to have real life time... anyway i prefer ride even 10 sec faster or slower than real life but with a challenging AI
     
  11. Nikki 2017

    Nikki 2017
    Banned

    Messages:
    183
    Ratings:
    +3
    And do you know how to make real life time race & qualifying times?
     
  12. Giovaneveterano

    Giovaneveterano
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,362
    Ratings:
    +471
    Into the DATA/TRACKS there is a optimization.bml file that contains the grip factor for every corner of the track. It changes only the AI grip, it's a good starting point, but I never edited it since 2014.

    Into the "realistic lap time" topic I'm lost. I can tweak the physics over and over again but again this year I can clock a 1.58 at Silverstone (lap record around 2:00) but not better than 1.50 at Mugello.
    Sad.
     
    • Wow Wow x 1
  13. Nikki 2017

    Nikki 2017
    Banned

    Messages:
    183
    Ratings:
    +3
    So if I copy the optimization.bml from the real track times used in VRTG it could help me?
     
  14. Giovaneveterano

    Giovaneveterano
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,362
    Ratings:
    +471
    Yes, it can help.
    The ideal track times for qualifying are into DB/DB_IDEALTRACKTIMES but the race pace is set by VEHICLE/AI/MOTOGP have a look for some multiplier.
    I'm not home at the moment, I can't remember each single file name.
    Someone else has a better memory :)
     
  15. Nikki 2017

    Nikki 2017
    Banned

    Messages:
    183
    Ratings:
    +3
    so if I copy the old aimotogp.bml what changes will happen?
     
  16. Giovaneveterano

    Giovaneveterano
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,362
    Ratings:
    +471
    It crashes! You need to open it with BML editor and change every single string into it.
    It's not a straightforward process.. unfortunately :redface:
     
  17. Nikki 2017

    Nikki 2017
    Banned

    Messages:
    183
    Ratings:
    +3
    It didn't crash, it just appears to be the same. No time AI improvements appear.
     
    • Sad Sad x 1
  18. Giovaneveterano

    Giovaneveterano
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,362
    Ratings:
    +471
    Maybe the multiplier has moved away from that.
    In that case we are in :poop:
    Milestone has no idea how to make a game, seriously
     
  19. Pascal Herbig

    Pascal Herbig

    Messages:
    135
    Ratings:
    +13
    Go ahead, make a better game from scratch. Good luck.
     
    • Haha Haha x 1
  20. Albatross

    Albatross

    Messages:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    im playing console but has anyone noticed the dramatic difference between qualifying and race times for the a1. im doing career mode in moto3 and there is a good 5-7 second difference between race and qualifying times and its quite a difference when im going from 10th to 32nd in 2 laps and im riding as good as i was qualifying