New Automobilista owner

I bought AMS this weekend in an impuls, after reading much good about it.
I am relatively new to sim-racing: I have been doing it for about 6 months, in RD with R3E, where I drive around with the slow 25%, and having a lot of fun.

I have noticed that AMS is harder to drive than R3E even when not trying to go to the limit - I have been practising a bit with the formula Vee and there is nothing in R3E that compares to this experience. So I was wondering about racing online with RD in AMS: are those races suitable for a novice driver, or is the whole field very competitive, so I would only be a burden and a danger, with nobody to fight with in the back?

I installed one 3rd party track (the one for tonight's online RD race) in-between the stock content, but I wonder if I can keep the 3rd party content separated from the rest?

Using a mod manager does the trick ... as unactivating an addon track, a modded car or skin packs for example takes the added files out of the stock game.
In order to activate and unactivate added contents, those have to be installed with the mod manager of course.

The old good JSGME still works perfectly in this meaning.

NB when unactivated, added contents remain in a separate folder created at the install of this mod manager..

If it makes you feel better, I can't drive the Vees at all! Formula extreme no problem, formula classic around Bathurst no problem but the Vees around Velopark? No chance :roflmao:

My two main tips, mainly for open wheelers but they also apply for other cars:

1) brake bias, this was the huge problem for me when I started on SCE, I kept locking the rears of open wheelers under braking and spinning out. Push it further forward and lower the brake pressure to something like 59:41 and 88% pressure. For tintops, lowering the pressure, as with in WTCC in r3e is really helpful. At the moment it's not about the best setup to go quick, it's to get round the track consistently.