• "I've tried everything other than jumping out of a plane, but nothing gives you an adrenaline rush like racing a car." - Nigel Mansell
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Monaco AI problem

Discussion in 'F1 2013 - The Game' started by Philippe Ng, Nov 17, 2013.

  1. Philippe Ng

    Philippe Ng

    Messages:
    10
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all, I was racing in carrer mode at Monaco and I've noticed that the AI doesn't stop crashing straight into the barrier between turn 14 and 15 at the swimming pool. Do anybody else have this same problem? Do you guys have any ideas how to get it fixed? Well, I've tried to install the True to life ai mod but the problem still occurs.
     
  2. Nas00

    Nas00

    Messages:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know what you're talking about but installed True to Life AI and since then I don't have that problem anymore.

    What are your system specs?
     
  3. Mercury53

    Mercury53

    Messages:
    111
    Ratings:
    +23
    I did not have this problem. In fact, the AI was much faster than me at Monaco.
     
  4. Jonathan Rowland

    Jonathan Rowland

    Messages:
    447
    Ratings:
    +240
    what race distance and difficultly are you on? Seems that people on 25% and professional have this issue but no one else. That's my theory from reading the threads on it, but might not be the case
     
  5. serjass

    serjass

    Messages:
    32
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have this problem too. My race distance 50%, difficulty legend! this problem is not only in Monaco.Canada for example too.
     
  6. serjass

    serjass

    Messages:
    32
    Ratings:
    +5
    I play on laptop: core i5 2,50, 8 gb, nvidia 610m.
     
  7. Victor Ivanov

    Victor Ivanov

    Messages:
    3,905
    Ratings:
    +1,518
    I think there was a problem with F1 2012. Seach for this thread for Malaysia in last years game forums.
     
  8. serjass

    serjass

    Messages:
    32
    Ratings:
    +5
    Вить, в 12 й проблему решили? у меня с ней проблем не было.
     
  9. ai driver

    ai driver

    Messages:
    169
    Ratings:
    +60
    I noticed that when I sit and wait outside the track, ai do not crash; so ai are pressurised too much by player ? When I start moving, some ai start to retire. May be modders can work in this direction and solve the bug.

    Best part is they just run along the raceline like a train without any action. No wonder no casualty when player is not active. Lazy CM programmers. :p
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2013
  10. SMTID

    SMTID

    Messages:
    2
    Ratings:
    +0
    This sounds like a problem I have. At China, Hungary and Brands Hatch I've noticed the AI goes straight on at certain corners, runs off track and I can breeze past them. This happens in almost every lap.

    I wasn't really bothered about it when it was just happening in single races but it defeats the point of scenarios and is now happening at China in my career mode. Barring a disaster I will win it in a Caterham from 19th on the grid unless anyone knows of any possible fixes!
     
  11. snthennumbers

    snthennumbers

    Messages:
    920
    Ratings:
    +260
    My mod fixes how the AI drive across all tracks, except for the classic tracks (I haven't gotten there yet). I've personally not had any issues at Canada, Hungary, or China.
    However, the issue at Turn 15 in Monaco is still present. I seem to have reduced this issue with True to Life AI, but it's still there.

    I've written to CM about it here:
    http://steamcommunity.com/app/223670/discussions/0/864980734600872139/#c666826251076904244

    and here:
    http://steamcommunity.com/app/223670/discussions/0/666826250683344179/

    As well as on CM's forums, but they're down right now:
    community.codemasters.com/t5/F1-2013-Technical-Assistance/PC-Monaco-bugs-and-bad-braking-points/td-p/394494

    There's something going on through turn 14 and 15 that's causing the AI to either make an avoidance maneuver, or go for an overtake...both of which cause the AI to go straight through turn 15 and slam into the armco barrier at the exit of turn 16.

    Unsurprisingly, I haven't heard anything from CM on this issue...
    But for what it's worth, and not to toot my own horn, my mod should make a notable improvement to your F1 2013 experience :thumbsup:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. SMTID

    SMTID

    Messages:
    2
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that, seems to have fixed my problems at China :)
     
  13. ai driver

    ai driver

    Messages:
    169
    Ratings:
    +60
    I have found a workaround for "suicide" circuits like Monaco.
    If you have F1 2012, eg for Monaco, just copy from F1 2012 the following files: ai_track.xml and ai_vehicle_track.xml from tracks/circuits/monaco/route_0. and also RacingLine.xml from tracks/circuits/monaco; then replace the corresponding files in the following F1 2013 folders: tracks/circuits/monaco/route_0/era_1988, tracks/circuits/monaco/route_0/era_1992 and tracks/circuits/monaco/route_0/era_2013.
    There are less instances of ai running wild and clashing at the turns after that. Guess you can do the same with other problematic circuits using similar procedures but remember to backup your files first.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Beer Beer x 1
  14. Winner

    Winner

    Messages:
    256
    Ratings:
    +247
    Thank you, it worked for me. No more stupid crash and only corner cutting by ai at some turns in Monaco.