x-packer problems?

Hey all, fairly new to BTB and making tracks etc.
anyways ive been trying to make my own object recently and ive been following the toutorial videos on youtube anywho, after alot of stuffing around finding the gmotor plugin for 3DS max 2010 and getting it running ive exported the 3ds file and tryed to load the object into the x-packer, as i do this i get an error "Material #(number) has no texture"

Does anyone know or have some idea of what i might be doing wrong, or is there a step i might have to do different as im using a newer version of cs and 3ds than in the video.

thanx in advance for any help
cheers

Hi.
Not sure why you would want the gmotor plugin for this.
Sounds like your using gmats. I'm no expert but pretty sure exporting to 3ds will remove the gmat mapping. If you use normal 3ds mapping, when you import to xpacker you set the gmats for each existing material, and exporting your track from btb handles the rest.

Hi.
Not sure why you would want the gmotor plugin for this.
Sounds like your using gmats. I'm no expert but pretty sure exporting to 3ds will remove the gmat mapping. If you use normal 3ds mapping, when you import to xpacker you set the gmats for each existing material, and exporting your track from btb handles the rest.
Yes as mentioned before im new to this whole track building thing, so ive have no idea what im doing when it comes to making my own objects for the program, so im just following the guide avalible on youtube!
But If you can link me to another tutorial on how to make ur own objects for BTB that i can follow this will solve my problem....fingers crossed :D

May be the name of the textures is not 8.3
It would be funny as hell if this was the problem, and i went back and checked just to make sure it wasnt the problem, tho im pretty sure no program these days should be affected by the old 8.3 naming scheme!...... tho u never realy know for sure until you check :tongue: