"World Record" times unrealistic?

I practice on the Nordschleife most of the time. I'm relatively new to sim racing, but I've put in enough laps to have matured in the sense that my better laps are all within a few seconds of each other. I'm still improving, but by now it's a fight to lower my times by more than a second or so.

However, I note that the per-car "world record" times seem unrealistically fast. On my current favorite car (a generic 80's-ish F1 car), the record time is almost a minute faster than my best time, and that story is about the same on every other car I've tried. I do run the cars stock, but I'm skeptical that tuning would deliver such radically-faster times.

So, are these record times actually realistic? Are they achieved in hacked cars? Or am I just lame? (Don't answer that last one! ;))

I practice on the Nordschleife most of the time. I'm relatively new to sim racing, but I've put in enough laps to have matured in the sense that my better laps are all within a few seconds of each other. I'm still improving, but by now it's a fight to lower my times by more than a second or so.

However, I note that the per-car "world record" times seem unrealistically fast. On my current favorite car (a generic 80's-ish F1 car), the record time is almost a minute faster than my best time, and that story is about the same on every other car I've tried. I do run the cars stock, but I'm skeptical that tuning would deliver such radically-faster times.

So, are these record times actually realistic? Are they achieved in hacked cars? Or am I just lame? (Don't answer that last one! ;))

I doubt there are any fake times. The FClassic gen 1/2/3 allow to push much more than you initially think. On corner exit when you think the rear tyres are slipping you should just give it more throttle and it will actually stick. The Nordschleife has 170 corners so if you lose just 0.2 sec per corner, your final lap time will be 34 sec behind.