Wheel rotation, lock and shifters.

Hey guys, I'm kind of new to all of this.. so I was just wondering...

How you guys set up your wheels?

At the moment I'm stuck with 360 wheel rotation, and default 15 degrees steering lock. It's that ok... should I change any of this? Each car class is better with a different setup?

Hm.. and other thing, what shifters you guys use, for me it's the sequencial shifter (for WTCC, Muscle Cars) and the paddles behind the wheel (fast GT cars and open wheel).. btw, I use a DFGT.

sorry for all the questions.. :cool:

thanks in advance.

this is what i do...

touring and gt cars with 15:1 steering ratio, open wheel cars 9:1 or 10:1

the way i calculate this is, for example:

i want to use 900 degree wheel rotation and achieve a 15:1 steering ratio: 900 divided by 15 = 60, then 60 divided by two = 30, i setup the in game rotation to 30 degrees.

if i want to have 400 degree wheel rotation and achieve 9:1 ratio: 400 divided by 9 = 44.444, divided by two = 22.22, so i use 22.5 in game.

400/9 or 900/15 gives me the rotation of the car wheels from full lock to full lock, i divide that by two to figure out the angle of the tires from center to full lock, which is the adjustment you set up in the game.

i hope this is clear, but even if its not, it is a good starting point. take the amount of rotation you have on your wheel, divide it by the ratio you want and divide that by two, this works for me and i hope it works for you.

you can also use this table by freejrs as a quick reference so you dont have to whip out a calculator every time:

CAR.WHEEL ROTATION.STEERING LOCK
WTCC 06/07.540*.18-22*
F3000.400*.17-19*
RADICALS.792.38*
WTCC 87.900*.24-27*
FBMW.450*.20*
F1 05.540*.19-22*
CATERHAMS.792*.38*
MINI.900*.28*
GT CARS/DTM/V8'.540*.18-22*
PORSCHE 996.900*.29.5*
ROAD CARS.900*.30-34*

i got this from here
http://www.nogripracing.com/details.php?filenr=22842