F1 2010 wheel or other

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
as i am new to car racing games ie Christmas, ( last used about 30 years ago ) help required in getting faster times and being more competitive. i have all assists on and using automatic gears. from past experience and reading the threads on here, the sooner i go to a manual box the better. but. there is the problem g25 etc i am now getting on a bit. i am not likely to get another car racing game and i don't want to / or rather cannot use pedals. so the question is the same as on previous threads but with a difference. can you just use a wheel with flaps and can the other buttons operate the throttle and brakes I am on a pc.or would i be better off with a game pad. any and all replies would be appreciated

If you really want to use the wheel just for controlling your car.. and to throttle and brake with buttons.. you are probably better off with a gamepad..
but mind you, if u were to use the pedals, you could get rid of TCS and that would give you better lap times (once you are used to it)..
answering your question.. yes could can assign buttons on the steering to accelerate and brake..

Don't use buttons for the gas/brake pedal as it gives you no variance. It's 0% or 100% throttle/brake and it doesn't take a brain surgeon to figure out the problem with that. I would suggest waiting until you get pedals and in the meantime just use a controller.

Being disabled does limit your wheel use :D so I suggest a pad, 360 pad for pc is the best I have used so far and what I am currently using, The triggers are analogue (progressive input) which you need in this game for throttle, so that will be the best bet for you dtwainwright as it is all at your finger tip's.