What software are you using for track and car modding?

Shovas

Premium
What software are you using for track and car modding?

Bob's Track Builder has me confused.

3DSimEd can do cars?

What do you guys recommend?

For cars 3DSimEd can do some simple operations but using Blender ( the free one ) or 3DSMax ( if you can find it at a good price or ??? :D ) is of course better and purely made to build 3D ... but both need to be learnt and that's not really easy at the start.

But even using Blender needs 3DSimed as Blender cannot open or export GMTs ... they need to be converted in another format.

It was too late for me to learn such a big tool and use it to build a car ... but for now mapping, creating templates or separate some parts or adding some little missing faces... are things I learnt to do as I need them.

For tracks, no idea ! ;)

Last edited:
I'm a total beginner, too, but I already know of a fix I want to make on some mod cars where the whole car goes dark, including the windshield, when you pass through a shadow when really the outside should look the same brightness.

GTR233 told me about the fix for that but I think I need 3DSimEd.

I'm a total beginner, too, but I already know of a fix I want to make on some mod cars where the whole car goes dark, including the windshield, when you pass through a shadow when really the outside should look the same brightness.

GTR233 told me about the fix for that but I think I need 3DSimEd.
Easy fix is to set shadows on HIGH instead of FULL and you will get much higher fps :)

Go to the car's .cas file and remove shadowreciever on windows, like this example:

<NOTSPIN><DASHHIGH> MeshFile=dbr9_cpit_windows.gmt CollTarget=False HATTarget=False LODIn=(0.0) LODOut=(3.0) ShadowReceiver=False
Mirrors:
<NOTSPIN><DASHHIGH> MeshFile=dbr9_cpit_mirror_:inlove:>.gmt CollTarget=False HATTarget=False LODIn=(0.0) LODOut=(3.0) ShadowReceiver=False
This will fix most shadow issues on windows.