What parts should I upgrade to run AC?

I'm very new to the whole PC gaming so apologies if I come across as I bit of an idiot! Built a cheap PC a few years ago and just got back on it to play AC. The specs are.

AMD A8-6600K 3.90 GHz
4 GB of RAM
AMD Radeon HD 7700 series
Gigabyte GA-F2A88XM-DS

I'm trying to play with some AI (10 to be exact) and I'm getting quite a lot of lag. The FPS are sitting at around 40 and iv turned down all of the quality settings to minimum. Tried over clocking the CPU and graphics card this afternoon and still have the same issue. Is it time to upgrade the parts or is there something I'm missing? Again sorry if I said anything wrong there, have half a clue what I'm taking about!

AMD A8-6600K 3.90 GHz
4 GB of RAM

I have an i3 3220 with 8gb ram and HD 7770 video card, if you don't want to go for a complete motherboard swap so you can go to an i7 cpu etc. I would upgrade to 8gb ram and get a better video card for a start, your CPU is slightly faster than mine, so that shouldn't be a problem. Other more knowledgeable souls may chime in.

See here where your video card sits, the Geoforce GTX 780 for example has roughly 4 times the performance and if you go used they shouldn't cost that much:
https://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Radeon+HD+7700-serie&id=2317

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to ac :)
I'm not sure if it's the CPU oder the graphics card but you can test it easily:

- CPU test: change the resolution to 800x600 and put every slider to the absolute minimum. The graphics card now won't have any problem with the game.
Now test with some ai if it still stutters or not.

If it stutters it's the CPU. The CPU is just slightly affected by resolution and graphic settings so that an easy way to test it :)

If it runs butter smooth it's the graphics card!

Both thank you for the reply! I tryed the CPU test and the game was still stuttering so I guess I need go invest in a new CPU. Do you guys have any suggestions on what one to get?