F1 2010 Well, I tried...

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
F

Frankantz

• Frankantz

I just can't get into this. The game is insanely hard and there are weird things going on with the AI. I so much preferred the Championship Edition, even if the graphics here are better.
I finish last all of the time, Settings are on easy peasy, all driver assists turned on, in a Lotus with tyre and fuel sim turned off. All I want to do is finish in the middle of the field but the game seems to have been made for people with a formula 1 car set up in their living room. FFS I can't see how people are coming first in a Lotus in legend! Its just too buggy, and too stupidily difficult.

The replays suck and AI is ludicrous.

Codemasters just lost another customer I'm afraid.

You have given up too easily. Im no expert racer at all and race with nearly all the assists on (do have a momo racing wheel though). The Lotus is not a great car at all and choosing the default setups you are going to struggle big time (I know I did).

Pick a default setup, do a few laps, then start to play with the gear ratios to start with, they can make a huge difference and are the easiest setting to tweek to get them set correctly for someone who knows very little. Set the top gear so that you are at max revs in 7th gear at the end of the main straight and adjust everything from there. Generally speaking turn everything down to the lowest gear ratio for each gear isnt a bad place to start with the Lotus.

Keep the racing line turned on all the time and learn to follow it closely , especially at entry and exit of corners. For a demo to my 9 year old stepson as to how important the racing line is I did a few laps of Singapore following the racing line. Then I did a lap getting just two of the slow corners wrong. Just those 2 corners cost me 4 seconds on a lap. 9 y/o step son gets it now how important that racing line is.

Give it time, practice, drive smoothly, do not 'saw' on the steering wheel.