• Welcome to the largest (sim) racing website in the world!
    Blurring the line between real and virtual motorsports.

WEC: Audi takes victory in record breaking 6 Hours of Spa

Discussion in 'Motorsports' started by Jack Hunsley, May 4, 2015.

  1. Jack Hunsley

    Jack Hunsley

    Audi has taken the victory at the 6 Hours of Spa Francorchamps in a closely fought race ahead of Porsche, setting both race lap records and a new overall distance record on their way to the checkered flag.

    At the flag it was the #7 Audi of Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler who made it two out of two wins this season so far, whilst the #18 Porsche of Marc Lieb, Romain Dumas and Neel Jani forced to settle for 2nd with the #17 car of Timo Bernhard, Mark Webber and Brendon Hartley completing the podium.

    Off the start Porsche lead the field way with their three cars managing to hold onto to their positions, but Audi did manage to cause them some trouble by holding onto the back of the #18 Porsche in the very early stages of the race.

    However it wasn't long before the action started as Nick Tandy, driver of Porsche's newest #19 entry ahead of Le Mans, made contact with Porsche GT driver Kevin Estre down into Stavelot whilst attempting to lap his sister car, which brought both cars back into the pits for repairs. Estre would later be awarded a drive through penalty for his misdemeanor. The drama didn't end there however as not long after Goethe lost control of his GTE Am Aston Martin at the top of Radillion and spun into the barriers, but remarkably was able to recover and bring his car back to the pitlane and to rejoin the race.

    Meanwhile the day went from bad to worse for Porsche after a mechanical failure under braking for the Bus Stop on the #17 car forced driver Brendon Hartley to cut through a marshall's post to rejoin the track, landing his car a 15 second stop and go penalty, only for a suspension issue to crop up on the car as well which left just the #18 Porsche at the sharp end with the #8 and #7 Audi's for company.

    As the race neared it's halfway point several cars continued to fall by the wayside as Siegfried spun his GT Porsche into the wall at turn 11, Kristian Poulsen lost control of his Corvette after making way for an LMP2 car to become to day's second retirement are the team ByKolles LMP1 entry, whilst Marco Bonanomi in the #9 Audi's window exploded down the Kemmel Straight eventually forcing the Italian to pit. Next to run into problems was the #1 Toyota which suffered an electrical issue which first jammed the throttle open before preventing Anthony Davidson from shifting up or down gears, dropping the #1 down well out of contention

    Back at the battle for the lead Audi managed to close the gap to the generally faster Porsche's thanks to a Lotterer double stint halfway through the race which allowed the German to jump into the lead early into the fourth hour, kickstarting a long battle between the two cars thanks to Porsche's quicker short term pace combined with Audi's better long distance performance on double stints. But it was Porsche who were finally forced to relinquish their long held lead after Benoit Treluyer executed a superb overtake going round the outside of the #18 through Stavelot to take the lead, and whilst Neel Jani was able to put the #18 briefly back into the lead, after the final pit stops it was game over for the Stuttgart outfit.

    Further down the field Nico Hülkenberg finished 6th on his WEC debut in the #19 car which recovered well from it's early race adventures. In LMP2 JOTA Sport took the honours after the G-Drive Racing entry on Roman Rusinov, Julian Canal and Sam Bird lost it's engine in the final hour of the race whilst in a fairly comfortable lead. Finally in GTE Pro Aston Martin took the honours ahead of the Porsche entry of Makowiecki and Lietz after late dramas for the #51 AF Corse entry, and also in GTE Am with Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy and Mathias Lauda crossing the lead at the head of the class in their Aston Martin.

    Official Race Results
    1. LMP1 - #7 Audi sport Team Joest (Lotterer, Fassler, Treluyer) - 176 Laps
    2. LMP1 - #18 Porsche Team (Dumas, Jani, Lieb) - 176 Laps
    3. LMP1 - #17 Porsche Team (Bernhard, Webber, Hartley) - 175 Laps
    4. LMP1 - #9 Audi Sport Team Joest (Albuquerque, Bonanomi, Rast) - 174 Laps
    5. LMP1 - #2 Toyota Racing (Wurz, Sarrazin, Conway) - 173 Laps
    6. LMP1 - #19 Porsche Team (Hülkenberg, Bamber, Tandy) - 173 Laps
    7. LMP1 - #8 Audi Sport Team Joest (Di Grassi, Duval, Jarvis) - 168 Laps
    8. LMP1 - #1 Toyota Racing (Davidson, Buemi) - 162 Laps
    9. LMP2 - #38 JOTA Sport (Dolan, Tincknell, Evans) - 161 Laps
    10. LMP2 - #28 G-Drive Racing (Yacamán, González) - 160 Laps
    11. LMP2 - #43 Team SARD Morand (Webb, Ragues, Amberg) - 159 Laps
    12. LMP2 - #47 KCMG (Howson, Bradley, Lapierre) - 159 Laps
    13. LMP2 - #36 Signatech Alpine (Panciatici, Chatin, Capillaire) - 159 Laps
    14. LMP2 - #42 Strakka Racing (Leventis, Kane, Watts) - 156 Laps
    15. LMP2 - #35 OAK Racing (Nicolet, Merlin, Maris) - 152 Laps
    16. GTE Pro - #99 Aston Martin Racing V8 (Rees, MacDowall, Stanaway) - 151 Laps
    17. GTE Pro - #92 Porsche Team Manthey (Lietz, Makowiecki) - 151 Laps
    18. GTE Pro - #91 Porsche Team Manthey (Estre, Muller) - 151 Laps
    19. GTE Pro - #51 AF Corse (Bruni, Vilander) - 151 Laps
    20. GTE Pro - #97 Aston Martin Racing (Turner, Mücke, Bell) - 150 Laps
    21. GTE Pro - #95 Aston Martin Racing (Nygaard, Sørensen) - 150 Laps
    22. GTE Pro - #71 AF Corse (Rigon, Calado) - 150 Laps
    23. LMP2 - #31 Extreme Speed Motorsport (Brown, Overbeek, Fogarty) - 149 Laps
    24. GTE Am - #98 Aston Martin Racing (Dalla Lana, Lamy, Lauda) - 148 Laps
    25. GTE Am - #83 AF Corse (Perrodo, Collard, Águas) - 148 Laps
    26. GTE Am - #72 SMP Racing (Shaitar, Basov, Montermini) - 147 Laps
    27. GTE Am - #88 Abu Dhabi-Proton Racing (Ried, Bachler, Al Qubaisi) - 146 Laps
    28. GTE Am - #77 Dempsey Racing-Proton (Dempsey, Long, Seefried) - 145 Laps
    29. GTE Am - #96 Aston Martin Racing (Goethe, Hall, Castellacci) - 138 Laps
    30. LMP2 - #30 Extreme Speed Motorsport (Sharp, Dalziel, Hansson) - 134 Laps
    31. LMP2 - #26 G-Drive Racing (Rusinov, Canal, Bird) - 124 Laps
    DNF - GTE Am - #55 AF Corse (Cameron, Mortimer, Griffin) - 128 Laps
    DNF - GTE Am - #50 Larbre Competition (Roda, Ruberti, Poulsen) - 61 Laps
    DNF - LMP1 - #4 Team ByKolles (Trummer, Liuzzi, Klien) - 46 Laps
    • Like Like x 6
    • Beer Beer x 2
  2. Dan Allen

    Dan Allen
    I am the Pastor Maldonado of RaceDepartment.

    And what a great race it was too! Thoroughly enjoyed it!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Flammenjc

    hydr.eSport Premium

    Never will understand why the **** Estré got a penalty for Tandys dive bomb.....
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Yannick Van Broeck

    Yannick Van Broeck

    I thoroughly agree! I was watching corner when all of that happened and later found out the GTE got the penalty. I was like: :O_o::O_o:
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. airutonpurosuto8912


    Lietz and Mako 2nd, impressed :)
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.