1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tracks Watkins Glen International

Discussion in 'Assetto Corsa Modding Discussions' started by LilSki, Aug 15, 2017.

  1. LilSki

    LilSki
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,285
    Ratings:
    +3,251
    From 71-74 they used the normal boot layout just with no bus stop. From 75-84 they used a stupid chicane that was added in the middle of the esses. The chicane was thankfully removed after F1 left (best decision ever) but the remains of that chicane are still there on the right side of the track right after T1.

    upload_2017-12-4_11-30-16.png
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Ryno917

    Ryno917

    Messages:
    611
    Ratings:
    +345
    I had no idea they used the chicane for that long. I thought it was just used in two (non-sequential) years.

    The things you learn playing videogames.
     
  3. LilSki

    LilSki
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,285
    Ratings:
    +3,251
    I'm honestly surprised they didn't remove it during the 2016 repave but maybe they felt it was part of the tracks history so they left it.
     
  4. Ryno917

    Ryno917

    Messages:
    611
    Ratings:
    +345
    Does it maybe still get set up for motorcycle events or track days?
     
  5. LilSki

    LilSki
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,285
    Ratings:
    +3,251
    No not that I know of. You would see signs of it even when not used such as painted lines and such.
     
  6. DutchDevil79

    DutchDevil79
    Premium

    Messages:
    147
    Ratings:
    +74
    Hmm I feel a alternate season version coming up.

     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. LilSki

    LilSki
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,285
    Ratings:
    +3,251
    Go play pCars2 if you want useless snow on race tracks. :whistling:
     
    • Haha Haha x 6
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 3
  8. LilSki

    LilSki
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,285
    Ratings:
    +3,251
    I recorded a first draft of all AI lines the other day and decided to let them run a bit. Got all the grandstands modeled they just need textures now. Trees are also just placeholders for now. I will need to make a whole new set of tree textures for here.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2017
    • Love Love x 28
    • Like Like x 8
    • Beer Beer x 1
  9. Eck Simpson

    Eck Simpson
    Premium

    Messages:
    805
    Ratings:
    +191
    Oh.... my... :speechless:
     
  10. BenCollins

    BenCollins
    Premium

    Messages:
    361
    Ratings:
    +205
    It's a stunning reproduction of a stunning race track already. The gradient is so clear here, the imposing fences brilliant. As U2 once sang, It's even better than the real thing.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. aphidgod

    aphidgod
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,200
    Ratings:
    +1,366
    I like the Glen, but I'm not sure it's better than Coke.
     
    • Haha Haha x 2
  12. Leonardo Ratafiá

    Leonardo Ratafiá
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,253
    Ratings:
    +552
    @LilSki you're the king of elevation changes tracks!!
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. LilSki

    LilSki
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,285
    Ratings:
    +3,251
    They are the only ones worth driving in my opinion ;)

    If it's flat it ain't for me.
     
    • Agree Agree x 7
  14. aphidgod

    aphidgod
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,200
    Ratings:
    +1,366
    In the real world you're sort of constrained by what bit of land you own and how the planet is configured in that location. At least in AC you get a bit more freedom to choose.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. Ryno917

    Ryno917

    Messages:
    611
    Ratings:
    +345
    Agreed. rFactor's Mills Metropark is the only exception.

    That's why you pick a good piece of land to build a track on. :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. cubadoo1

    cubadoo1

    Messages:
    65
    Ratings:
    +24
    With the exception of paul ricard . silverstone is one of the most overated tracks out there and monza too.
     
  17. BenCollins

    BenCollins
    Premium

    Messages:
    361
    Ratings:
    +205
    Silverstone is not that flat. The current configuration doesn't help, but the most perfect layout from 1991 to 1993 featured a rise to Abbey followed by a downhill full speed through the terrifying Bridge corner. I would kill for this layout in AC, but at the moment it is only available in Geoff Crammond's F1GP.

    Monza is not flat either. There is a downhill under the old oval bridge, that rises up towards the back straight to Parabolica.

    Albert Park is seriously flat. I've been there 4 times, it is as flat as a witch's tit.
     
    • Haha Haha x 2
  18. cubadoo1

    cubadoo1

    Messages:
    65
    Ratings:
    +24
    If you like them tracks thats fair play i think theyre massively overated and not thrilling , chicanes are just crap . Downhill section on bathurst is thrilling , the becketts and maggots is just annoying.
     
  19. Andreas Knöpke

    Andreas Knöpke
    Let's drive side by side! Premium

    Messages:
    1,369
    Ratings:
    +453
    Pointless discussion of the day.
    Rather more videos of the track :inlove:
     
  20. BenCollins

    BenCollins
    Premium

    Messages:
    361
    Ratings:
    +205
    You're wrong. The 1991-93 Silverstone is one of the all-time greatest circuits.

    The chicanes of 1990's Monza are a real challenge and the focus of so many critical moments in Formula 1's history.

    Bathurst is far too narrow to ever be an F1 circuit, so that comparison is nonsensical.