Trying to get my setup right

Hi guys,

I'm a complete newbie here, and having just bought rFactor and my G27 wheel, I was trying to get a nice setup. I've downloaded the DRM Revival mod and the 1990 Spa track and installed them. I used Ryders mod manager to install the mod and just plonked the track in manually.

When I go into the game, I set the mod up to use the Lancia Beta (On the understanding it will probably be the easiest car for my skill level!) using the H shifter. I've set the difficulty at the highest and turned of the auto clutch option.

Some problems I'm having:

1) The track texture seems very low resolution and speckled, distractingly so. It does not look nice at all! Also where I skid or slide, the smoke kicked up is green, which seems odd to me. I have my graphics options set to maximum.

EDIT: Fixed, didn't realise there was an external setup program, now in DX9 with full screen resolution!!

2) I understood with the DRM Revival mod, we would have to double clutch, but I don't seem to have too. I can quite happily change only pressing the clutch in once as I would in my road car, maybe I've mis-interpreted what it means to have to double clutch, but I thought I would have to press the clutch in, shift to neutral, release the clutch, reengage the clutch, select my next gear then release the clutch again.

Does anyone have any help for me or suggestions as to how I can improve my experience? (though it is already amazing the bus stop chicane in that car is just heartstopping!!)

I am about to install the LEO Plugin as reccomended in the mod manual, does anyone have any good G27 settings? (I prefer realistic rather than competitive)

The reason you can change gear without using the clutch properly is this isn't simulated in rFactor very well. It'll let you crash the gears without using the clutch, and both your engine+tires will just take the punishment.