Tips and tricks for AC - 1 year of simracing and RD

Hi there fellow simracers,

I've been simracing for a bit more than a year now, and I've learned a lot and I still have lots of things to learn (god d*** dampers and toe). With the RD community, I only raced Assetto Corsa, even though I have ACC as well, and Sunday we had a GT3 race at Brands Hatch and one guy asked for some advice.

I was slow in the beginning also, even if in real life, around my friends, I am the fastest when we go GoKarts, for instance. And compared to the fast guys on the server, I still am slower and I am nowhere near to be the best. But I have some experience with the game, and I would like to give my opinion for newcomers (as I see that the dedicated thread had disappeared). Any advice might help the new guys and with closer competition comes better races. So to put it forward, there are 2 things you have to learn:

1. The game itself. How to control the game, not only the car.
2. The racecraft and the car you are driving. Most say the Z4 is very nice for beginners. I couldn't cope with it. But you might find it easier to drive. If you have time, you should go for 30min practice sessions with every car.

And now, specific things I've done and I would like to do If I would have started today, with the knowledge I have:

3.1. Take it slow and learn the circuit first. Don't find only the best lap time, find the best consistency. I still suffer from this, trying to get the best laptime ... I am trying to correct it now. In the past, I was qualifying 10-12th and end up in 20th anyway because I was making lots of mistakes. I did yesterday too (GT3 race at Brands Hatch mentioned above) because I have not worked at my consistency from the start. @Kek700 @GEO147 are some of the most consistent guys out there. Nice to have from whom to learn.