F1 2010 Three basic questions, one about teams and one about difficulty level

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
I started playing this game again after a long time, this time at the maximum difficulty. However, one quirk that the game has, is that its AI seems have the same failing as every other raacing game: no matter how fast you go, the AI will cheat to go faster.

Is this impression accurate, or just my own delusions? At Catalunya, I consistently posted the fastest time (low to mid 1:22s) while the fastest time Vettel was able to post was a very high 1:22.9. As the race got under way, I pulled out some magic and got a few lap times in the low 1:21s, while EVERY single other lap did not exceed 1:22.5. Yet despite this, despite the fact that the AI was never able to keep pace with me during practice and qualifying, Vettel was consistently no more than a second behind me. I simply could not build up a lead.

So is this more of the fact that my driving abilities are not terrific, or is it that F1 2010, suffers from that curse that every other racing game suffers from: the CPU cheats?

2.) Going through the setup threads, everyone seems to post their fastest time in a McLaren, why is that? Is it really the fastest car? From my experience it seems that Red Bull consistently finish in the top 3 as well. Why are so few lap times set with that car?

3.) How can I decrease my pit stop times? It seems to fluctuate a lot at random and I have no clue as to why. In a game where miliseconds are important, how can I stop my pit times from varying from 4.5 to 7 or even 8 seconds?

Thansk

1)Yea, catalunya is very unbalanced. If you're playing on PC there are several mods you can use to make the legends Ai fairer/more realistic. The perfect corner mod should be enough if you just want to fix the Ai's speed though.