1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

General The Dumb Questions Thread

Discussion in 'Assetto Corsa Modding Discussions' started by GT VIRUS, Dec 9, 2016.

  1. Amir Vodokotlic

    Amir Vodokotlic

    Messages:
    416
    Ratings:
    +303
    Thanks for help guys!
    I deleted my previous pic so I don't confuse people.

    This is updated ms crappy paint skills.

    @mclarenf1papa

    I only see one pink curve is this better?

    [​IMG]


    could the blue mountain peak one be

    normalized longitudinal force vs slip angle?
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2017
  2. mclarenf1papa

    mclarenf1papa

    Messages:
    1,068
    Ratings:
    +1,391
    The slip ratio one looked pink on my phone...

    Otherwise, your labeling for the load sensitivity is a bit unclear- Load sensitivity (vertical load vs. coeff) would be better. And like Stereo said, the semi-circle looking one is a combined slip graph.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Stereo

    Stereo

    Messages:
    2,582
    Ratings:
    +1,613
    Ah yeah, by pink I meant the orangey one, I would call the other one magenta.
     
  4. mclarenf1papa

    mclarenf1papa

    Messages:
    1,068
    Ratings:
    +1,391
    Yeah the orange one is camber sensitivity
     
  5. Hoksu

    Hoksu

    Messages:
    82
    Ratings:
    +77
    Why is it that some car previews don't work despite the skin having a preview.jpg file in folder? Specifically, Ferrari F2004 previews aren't working. Vanilla skins, 4K Marlboro and Jaguar previews work, but BMW, BAR, Toyota, Sauber previews don't. The mods contain a preview file and I think it works for other people, but I cannot figure out why it does not work for me. https://i.imgur.com/BtV36z2.png

    Tried creating new previews with the preview generator, but they still did not appear in game. I had the same issue earlier with some McLaren F1 vanilla skins, that went away after a game update. Would like to understand why this is. edit: changed the pic to a link since it's not necessary anymore
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2017
  6. aphidgod

    aphidgod
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,200
    Ratings:
    +1,366
    This is a vague memory, but I think I've had a similar issue with skins that had a space in the folder name?
     
    • Love Love x 1
  7. Hoksu

    Hoksu

    Messages:
    82
    Ratings:
    +77
    Thank you! Removing spaces from skin folder names did the trick, now all the previews work.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Amir Vodokotlic

    Amir Vodokotlic

    Messages:
    416
    Ratings:
    +303
    @Stereo
    @mclarenf1papa
    @David Dominguez
    @kunos
    Round 2 of my stupid questions :(

    using the equation posted in ac forums
    MULT = (DY_REF*FZ0) / (FZ0^LS_EXPY)
    At some other load the new Dy would be:
    Dy = Fz^LS_EXPY * (MULT / Fz)

    Why isn't my excel calculation matching what the game is showing?
    Is it even possible to calculate DY or DX with different loads or its done under the hood?

    (Not printed in physics app but I guess DX F and DX R would be the same since MULT is same value.)
    (this is with car running camber and toe at 0)


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Stereo

    Stereo

    Messages:
    2,582
    Ratings:
    +1,613
    It's still just one multiplier, tire pressure/temperature/wear also modify the live Dy.
     
  10. Amir Vodokotlic

    Amir Vodokotlic

    Messages:
    416
    Ratings:
    +303
    So there is no way to determine the live Dy and Dx?
    Without having equations for pressure/temp/wear Multi.
    (From playing around it seems the LS_EXPY is some kind of scale factor for DY value.)

    What I am trying to do is use real tyre rig data that my University has. It very recent and its on fairly high performance street tyre. Unfortunately I am not allowed to share the files with anyone. (not even allowed to take file with me, can only view it at Uni.)
     
  11. Stereo

    Stereo

    Messages:
    2,582
    Ratings:
    +1,613
    No, I mean if you look at the app, it's showing load*pressure*temperature*wear*base Dy, so it will never match the load Dy curve exactly.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Amir Vodokotlic

    Amir Vodokotlic

    Messages:
    416
    Ratings:
    +303
    So after 2 hours of excel and trial and error...open AC drive take screenshot of car engineer app/setup debug/telemetry..

    I think I figured way to calculate live DY F and R Values. Gonna need more verifying and will post final excel sheet on ac physics forums.

    Didn't show the whole spreadsheet its massive there is more values in there camber/sensitivity etc.

    The in game physics app matches the DY F and R value down to last digit using excel.
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. mantasisg

    mantasisg
    User banned for 6 months on his own request

    Messages:
    1,360
    Ratings:
    +1,743
    How mucho camerafacing aka cardboard people hit performance ? I am planning to add at least 10k of them to goodwood.
     
  14. LilSki

    LilSki
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,284
    Ratings:
    +3,249
    RIR has about 10,200 around the whole circuit. If you are worried you can add them to KSLAYER5 so they only show up on max world detail.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. ltcars

    ltcars

    Messages:
    1,087
    Ratings:
    +432
    Hello there,
    I have this problem since a long time. The flames look just a little bit too transparent. First I thought it was a common issue, but all he other videos I found have normal flames. Can anyone help (This happens on all cars) Screenshot_ks_mclaren_p1_gtr_ks_highlands_8-12-117-16-15-25.jpg Screenshot_ks_mclaren_p1_gtr_ks_highlands_8-12-117-16-16-11.jpg
     
  16. mantasisg

    mantasisg
    User banned for 6 months on his own request

    Messages:
    1,360
    Ratings:
    +1,743
    [​IMG]

    I have moved crew to the right side, a bit better, but still bad. Could I remove them completely ?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. ltcars

    ltcars

    Messages:
    1,087
    Ratings:
    +432
    Can you mirror them to stand on the right side of the car? I know that this doesn't make any sense from a relaitic point of view, but if you can't delete them...
     
  18. mantasisg

    mantasisg
    User banned for 6 months on his own request

    Messages:
    1,360
    Ratings:
    +1,743
    I have moved crew to the right side, a bit better, but still bad. Could I remove them completely ?
     
  19. henrisal

    henrisal

    Messages:
    16
    Ratings:
    +5
    I think you need to have post-processing effects on to see the flames properly.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Guillaume Francois

    Guillaume Francois

    Messages:
    284
    Ratings:
    +140
    Hi guys,

    I'm working on a skin for the Porsche 911 GT3 R 2016 for an upcoming championship in 2018,
    I'm using Photoshop to add every decals and colors, and then i use GIMP to export the psd file to the dds file.
    But there is something i dont understand, i want to use a metal_detail file for a carbon look fiber with the skin i did.
    I can clearly see the skin_00.dds file (exported in DXT5) has some areas that are transparant but when i want to create a preview or even when i drive the car, i dont see the carbon fiber, but a black paint color instead.

    PS: I'm not home now so i can't show anything.

    If someone could send me to the right direction ?