surface bugs

A

animusalex

• animusalex

Hello from Virginia!
www.ferg3d.com

I am a 3D Artist working for the Virginia Institute for Performance and Research maintaining and building tracks for our Hexatech simulator. I am fluent in Max, and Maya, but a novice at Racer. Currently I am debugging our Mid_Ohio track with success. The track is complete and only has a few minor issues to work out to get this track ready for demonstrations. It has 3 bugs. The first bug was ambient noise that caused the simulator to shake constantly while the car was in motion. I fixed that by comparing the noise settings in the special.ini from 0.006 to 0.001. It got rid of the grainy constant noise, but there are a couple of spots where the car feels like it is impacting speed bumps. I think there are different bugs causing these flaws. The first is located at start line. The Qlog gives me this error, "RSplinerep: degenerate spline detected at line 1; skipped". I have resplined the track, but the error still exists. I just got to the point where I can interact with the TrackEd, but I am not very confident in my understanding yet. Also when I click ,"go to startline" button the TrackEd zooms to a point in space off the track. I think this different then the other problem areas on the track. There are 3 places on the track where the simulator will jump if you drive over them at speed. I think this could be a repeated element in the geometry.ini that is flagged for collision so I am going through that now. I would appreciate any advice or guidence :)

• Tiberius

Hi.

Splines I can't help you with, that error isn't something I've seen myself.

Car jumping at certain points could indeed be two overlapping objects, for instance if you had a bridge object set to collide which cut into a terrain object also set for collide - sometimes Racer doesn't like that and the results can be explosive.