So What / How Do You Practice?

I studied classical guitar for a number of years , gaining a number of diplomas and playing in an Eisteddfod (which I sucked at but at least came 3rd out of 16 contestants). The parallels i find with both practicing classical guitar and sim racing is repetition. Start slowly until the "speed" comes automatically. This take time and effort and can be boring (to some). I find it to be great fun.

I must admit I was surprised to find the topic in a race sim. But yes it can/does bear some relevance.

When I practice, I do that for lets say 1 hour or may be 2, when I see that I'm not improving my times, I stop for that day to avoid fatigue and frustration, but I'll still be thinking for solutions for my next sessions, if I practice for a combo for 1 week for example, I try to bring solutions day after day, and usually I get my ideas when I'm not practicing, when I'm relaxed far from my rig.

Been playing/practicing guitar for about 7 years now and played piano for 10 years before that, and one similarity for me between practicing an instrument and sim racing, is that improvement often happens in short bursts rather than being gradual and continuous. Meaning, you can go practicing for days and days without getting any better, until one day something "clicks" and you finally see an improvement, even if small.

In music this might mean that the scale you've been practicing for weeks without understanding what to do with it sudenly starts to make "musical sense" in your head. After days of "threading water" something clicked and you now realized how to apply the shapes and intervals of that scale into your playing and improvisation.

In simracing this might mean that after weeks of practicing without any noticeable improvements, one day something clicks and you notice that all this time your braking technique was wrong, and suddenly you see your times improving.