Skins

HI guys, im a bit of a noob with the skinning but im finding it almost impossible,

Ive downloaded the templates i need and painted them up, flattened them, saved an external DDs and put in the car texture file but the whole car ends up white.... every time.... wheels, windows, the lot!

Im using GIMP

Any suggestions?

Thanks

HI guys, im a bit of a noob with the skinning but im finding it almost impossible,

Ive downloaded the templates i need and painted them up, flattened them, saved an external DDs and put in the car texture file but the whole car ends up white.... every time.... wheels, windows, the lot!

Im using GIMP

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Hi,

Few questions that might help answer you questions!

Are you just replacing the 'external_textures...' file with one of the same name, i.e overwriting it?

When you flatten the image does it look the same as before?

When Exporting the Image are you exporting them as a DXT1?

Hopefully from there we can at least eliminate some things!

Sion

Hi Sion,

Thanks for the reply

Yes im just replacing the fabia2000_external.dds with the same file name, thats what im saving it from gimp as just to test

When i flatten yes it looks the same, Im keeping the skin as basic as possible (just a coulour change) as a test

Im sorry, im not sure what the third question means

Thanks so much for the help

Russ

Hi Sion,

Thanks for the reply

Yes im just replacing the fabia2000_external.dds with the same file name, thats what im saving it from gimp as just to test

When i flatten yes it looks the same, Im keeping the skin as basic as possible (just a coulour change) as a test

Im sorry, im not sure what the third question means

Thanks so much for the help

Russ

This might explain your problem, when you save the file as a DDS you get a screen up called 'Save as DDS' Under 'Compression' select DXT1 from the drop down list.