Apps SimHub, DIY Sim racing Dash 6.4.3

Dash on Monitor/Tablet/Phone, Arduino displays/gauges, Shakers, Fans, let your creativity decide!

  1. Ensi Ferrum

    Ensi Ferrum

    Messages:
    121
    Ratings:
    +54
    Your guess was right, the Nextion IS the best choice for a small, affordable display.
    I use it in different versions in my sim-racing-office-desk setup.
    Only drawback for the "normal" PC-user is that you need some IT-skills to get it working and to get the most out of it. But like a slogan from a german hardware-store says: "You grow with your project". Don't hesitate to ask if you run into troubles.
     
  2. Wotever

    Wotever
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,441
    Ratings:
    +600
    Windows defender can be a little playful, i've just pushed the full editor as I package it on virustotal with no suspicious things detected : https://www.virustotal.com/fr/file/...24d24d342e7c56ae1593b06d/analysis/1512674453/
     
  3. Ensi Ferrum

    Ensi Ferrum

    Messages:
    121
    Ratings:
    +54
    Can confirm, just let Defender check the Simhub folder (C:\Program Files (x86)\SimHub), no threads found:
    upload_2017-12-7_20-27-53.png
    May I ask what version of Windows and Defender you are using?
    Windows version: Press WIN, type winver, Enter:
    upload_2017-12-7_20-30-17.png

    Defender version:
    Open defender, click gear icon:
    upload_2017-12-7_20-32-38.png
    Click Info:
    upload_2017-12-7_20-33-25.png

    =>
    upload_2017-12-7_20-34-17.png

    Might be a false positive.
     
  4. danielwrc

    danielwrc

    Messages:
    78
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks friend!!
     
  5. Giustino

    Giustino

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +0
    Immagine.png Immagine1.png

    This false positive can give problem with communication between display and nextion editor?
     
  6. Wotever

    Wotever
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,441
    Ratings:
    +600
    Not really at least it depends on what did win defender (if he removed a file it can make a mess :D )

    But I know sometimes the nextion editor is grumpy with some usb uart.
    But there is still alternatives, I embed a custom uploader which is less grumpy than the itead one :
    See process for the arduino micro here:
    https://github.com/zegreatclan/Asse...splay#wiring-nextion-through-an-arduino-micro

    Otherwise it still possible to sert the template using a micro sd :
    https://nextion.itead.cc/faq-items/using-nextion-microsd/
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Giustino

    Giustino

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe it is a joke :(

    Immagine.png
     
  8. Ensi Ferrum

    Ensi Ferrum

    Messages:
    121
    Ratings:
    +54
    It is possible to say Defender not to check a folder.
    As it is late today, I can give you a detailed description tomorrow if needed
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Wotever

    Wotever
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,441
    Ratings:
    +600
    Hum ! OK thigs get more clear it's an upload error, since I followed the exact specifications from itead on how to upload, I looks coherent that it's failing too (not saying normal ;) ) .

    First I would try to set the template using the SD card, so you will know by connecting it so simhub if it works anyway. could you give a link to the usb ttl you are using ? It looks like it's the guilty part.
     
  10. Giustino

    Giustino

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought it on amazon. This is the link: https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B01N9RZK6I/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    Anyway, I try to test the usb ttl by looping tx and rx and it seems ok infact in random cases I succeeded write on nextion display (for example I updated the firmware). But the stranger thing is "now" I can upload file and a few minutes later I try to change dashboard and I recive timeout error. Five minutes later of my last message in which I said I had received the error message I made a new attempt and it was ok.
     
  11. Wotever

    Wotever
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,441
    Ratings:
    +600
    Hum really weird its one of the best chip, it makes it even more strange, maybe an underpowered hub ?
     
  12. Giustino

    Giustino

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nextion is plugged directly to PC by usb ttl (I change port usb and PC too with the same result). I read somewhere that the chip was cloned and my opinion is that mine is just that cloned. Unfortunately, I do not remember which is the precise code to recognize the original from the clone. The other cause could be the nextion hardware side.

    EDIT:
    this are the differences between original and clone chip
    https://zeptobars.com/en/read/FTDI-FT232RL-real-vs-fake-supereal
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
  13. Wotever

    Wotever
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,441
    Ratings:
    +600
    Hum ! I thought the ftdi-gate was ended, that's a reason why the CH340G had a big bump in the market. I guess there are still a lot of non genuine chips around.
     
  14. davewilliams000

    davewilliams000
    Premium

    Messages:
    872
    Ratings:
    +942
    I did the wrong resolution - 1280x720 instead of 1200x720 so i've now fixed it for v1.1. I've also done my dash for RSS Formula 4, which didn't take very long as it is quite simple:

    [​IMG]

    http://www.racedepartment.com/downloads/formula-4-dash-for-simhub.18621/

    Porsche 919 Hybrid 2016 is coming next, followed by SF70-H and F2004 fairly soon! Maybe after that I'll get around to finishing conversion of my nextion template from 3.2" to 3.5" and 4.3", although can't say when that will be. Doing the fonts is the worst/most tedious bit of Nextion for me.
     
    • Love Love x 1
  15. Adam#81

    Adam#81

    Messages:
    204
    Ratings:
    +54
    I got it to work, thank you for the tutorial. I know it's sad, but i didnt see the secondary tab that had all the things i needed to enable... maybe give it a more prominent look for people like me ;P
     
  16. Wotever

    Wotever
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,441
    Ratings:
    +600
    ah ah ! Cool !
    Yeah so mùuch features to fit, the new version have made a big step forward in term on clarity but there is still lot of work remaining :D
     
  17. davewilliams000

    davewilliams000
    Premium

    Messages:
    872
    Ratings:
    +942
    • Love Love x 1
  18. Ria33

    Ria33

    Messages:
    2
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I would like to recreate the dashboard F1 drivers have on their steering wheel using a Nextion display and ws2812b leds. Is it possible to control these two devices using a single Arduino board? From my understanding, it should work with an Arduino Micro, could you please confirm this?
     
  19. Wotever

    Wotever
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,441
    Ratings:
    +600
    Hi ! I've not made the ultimate AIO yet, nextion through arduino is really new and for now it does not embed any features coming from the SimHub arduino support, but it will come at a time ;)
     
  20. Ria33

    Ria33

    Messages:
    2
    Ratings:
    +0
    That was quick! Thank you for your answer, I'll stick to usb ttl until then.