Sim Rig Engineering - What are the Real Requirements?

There seem to be three basic approaches to attaching the uprights to the base of a sim rig:

Screen Shot 2021-10-18 at 12.43.46 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-10-18 at 12.44.30 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-10-18 at 12.45.50 PM.png

(Screen captures from RigMetal and Heusinkveld.)

Most rigs are one of the first two designs, while the only one I know of that uses the third is Heusinkveld's.

Another difference is that the Heusinkveld design puts the short cross member at the wheel uprights, where others typically put the cross member under the seat. Niels Heusinkveld is a Real Engineer, and his rig is "designed using CAD and FAE analysis", which makes me think his design is the one that provides the stiffest wheel support.

There's also a large difference in the size of the channels used in various rigs. I'm not an engineer, but given the strength of 8020, wonder whether some rigs use unnecessarily large (and expensive) channels, particularly with 8-10 Nm wheels and good-but-not-extreme pedals (e.g., Heusinkveld Sprint).

Are there any real engineers out there that can respond to my ramblings?

Thanks!

• Deleted member 197115

I am surprised HE was able to achieve stability without going custom brackets.
The second option should be the most stable. this is what Sim-Lab is using as well.
1634590800186.png

Upvote 0
I like the second picture, I see a lot of companies using the third picture as it certainly saves costs in making custom parts. I dont like the first, leftmost option.

Not many people are going to design the optimally engineered rig from 8020 and call it that. By the time its all said and done people will still look at the over engineered one and pay a small amount more. That seems to go for anything :)

Upvote 0
SimLab uses 4 screws to secure their brackets for uprights to 8020, which matches Heusinkveld.
A potential ergonomic benefit of spacing shifter extrusion slightly more distant from the seat