Sim racing effects on your normal driving?

Hello Forum Members,

I'm very new to sim racing, but I've noticed some fairly strong effects that it is causing on my normal street driving; almost all negative!

I drive a reasonably high performance car (Audi R8 manual). And darn-it, I have started to miss occasional shifts and stuff! Grab for the shifter and it's not there! Silly me, the shifter isn't in the same place as on my sim rig, and it's a longer-throw H-pattern instead of the snick-snick sequential on my rig.

Also, my normal safe and courteous driving habits have started to wander, as I find myself thinking about racing lines and how fast that corner could be taken. I have to check myself!

I figure this will pass soon enough, but for now I feel like I need to be a little more present and careful.

How has sim racing changed your real-life driving?

Hasn't had much effect generally for me, I keep that style of driving in the sim. But I was quite pleased last year when I avoided an accident and slide the rear of the car out with my abrupt movement, caught the slide and kept it on the black stuff without hitting anything. Without all the control training I get in a sim that at the least would have been a spin, probably much worse. Was almost enjoyable.

• Deleted member 963434

well at first it had too all negative effects for me, but then i think to myself better drive slow and be scared in real life cause yo play too much sims (and AC understeer simulator) and crashh too much in sims, than play nfs and think yo can drive same in real life always have grip and then die cause yo not always have grip in real life xD
well first thing was i learn what is understeer and oversteer in sims that was previous i even drive real car in real life. when i was making my driving license i already knew how cars drive and i knew better than i think people who teach my how to drive in driving school xD