Setup Questions and Understanding

Since I've been racing for about a month now with RD I've noticed I lack in a few degrees of racing and I'm studying that and improving. I'll break this into two parts.

Part 1: The learning of the track and how it applies to setups. The thing is with my driving at this point is that I don't fully have half the tracks memorized. Track's I've been racing at for years that are in this game I can put down consistent laps, usually within 1s of each other. I've been reading up on how to setup the car from multiple places. What I want to know is should I not worry about setups to an extreme at this point or just work on getting consistent laps before I start tweaking the car.

Part 2: At this point in my understanding of setting up a car I'm just sticking to the basics. Softer Springs = More Mechanical Grip, I don't do a lot of big tweaks to the default setup yet. I'll change ride height, springs, aero, and gearbox. I haven't fully grasped toe in/out, cambers and such, but I do know about the O C I heating dispearsion for tires. Should I spend a lot of time making sure those temps are within range across the tire or try to fine tune toe in/out, camber, pressures, and ARB's? Basically, what would give me a better bang in lap times vs. time tweaking the setup?

And a side note, how important is the fuel load, I get scared when I use my fuel calculator and always add about 3-5 more litres than I think I would need.

Not a great sim-racer myself, but I always change the tire pressure and camber, often change ARBs, and rarely change toe in/out.
In my experience, sim-racing, and bike riding :D, tire pressure has by far the biggest influence on driving out of those. Camber not that much, but it goes hand in hand with tire pressure, so easy to change.