Setting up new rig: Screens Vs Oculus

Hi everyone!

This is my first time here. I’m planning on setting up a racing rig, taking to a new level my Logitech G25 wheel, mainly to play Project Cars 2 on my PC.

I still have to take a final decision regarding which rig to buy (I’m considering a range of rigs from the GT Omega up to the Rseat RS1). However, I have a more pressing decision to make first, involving which sort of display I should use.

I’m sort of a casual user. I don’t intend to spend hours and hours on the simulator, I will just play 3-4 days a week, 1 or 2h per day maximum, and I may even spend weeks playing other games instead of sim racing.

My first intention was to use a secondary 32” TV I’ve got at home and later on decide if it’s worthwhile for me to upgrade to a more professional setup, such as VR or triple monitors.
Unfortunately, I’ve just realized the TV I intended to use is not Full HD as I initially thought, but just HD Ready (1366 x 768px) so I think that’s a No Go.

It seems then that I’ll have to spend some extra money on getting a decent display.
I think I’ve got 3 options:

1. Getting a 200-300€ 27-31” 1080p individual monitor such as the 32” Samsung C32F391FWU Curved LED, which costs a very decent 200€

2. Going for a triple monitor setup with three 24” monitors (I’m not really fond of this option, since I don’t want to occupy so much space in my office, and for some casual playing I think it might be too much, aside from being significantly more expensive than the other options)

3. Getting the new Oculus Rift S (450€), which sounds like a good option, since it’s not that much more expensive than option 1 (Single Monitor + Tv Stand will get quite close to the 450€ of the Oculus), aside from achieving a much tidier simulator rig, without screens and screen stands, which is definitely something to take into account in my case.