RSRBR 2013 crashes or doesn't load.

i've reinstalled this many times. it's not installed to /program files. it has all the patches and with no extra mods. when i try to launch "alone" the progress bar gets about halfway and then stops.
when i try to launch the RichardBurnsRally.exe i can only press enter (which takes me to the first rally school level) because if i press any directional keys the game crashes completely. i have the same result when trying to launch RichardBurnsRallySSE.exe as well.

i can provide pictures if that would be helpful.

i'm new to this game and mod and i originally intended to play the vanilla game for a while but after a minute or so into a race the scenery (fences/houses/trees) would all disappear. i've tried the GLSL option, but i can't seem to get that to cooperate. i figured if i downloaded a mod and played on custom levels maybe i wouldn't run into that issue but i'm stuck trying to get it to launch, or i have the other issue when booting up the regular .exe file.

It's pointless trying to get RSRBR to run if you can't run the default RBR.
So, we need to find out why the default game is playing up.

Can you supply your system specs?
Are you running on a laptop with an on-board grahics chip, these are known to give similar problems?

When I first installed RBR I had problems due to my PC Audio Settings (namely the sample rate). I had it on 96kHz before I think, and switched it to 44.1kHz and that fixed the problem for me.

If you right click the speaker icon in your taskbar -> click playback devices -> locate the "Default Device" -> click properties -> and then click advanced and see what the "Default Quality" is.

At the moment, mine is set to 24bits and 44.1kHz, which works fine for me. Try changing that if yours is different.

If its any use had a problem once with the resolution settings the start up screen lost all the menu settings and crashed the game made a few adjustments to the resolution and it was all good:thumbsdown: