Rookies - Please Qualify

Hi guys,

I'm a Rookie, trying to get myself up to Class D (well on my way, 3.9 at the moment). However I've never been bothered to Qualify, i always took the attitude of 'why bother, i'll just work my way through the pack, it's more fun'. Whilst it is fun to work your way through the pack, you will get frustrated with not winning races. Even though, as a Rookie, it doesn't matter if you win or not, it's about clean racing. It's still frustrating.

I also though Qualifying was 30 minutes, and as they are always @ 35 past the hour, i didn't want to lose the chance of having a race. So i never bothered. Until tonight.

Wow, what a difference. Did a couple of laps, got myself a ~1:00.200. Not the fastest, I've been faster (1:00.016 PB) but still relatively quick. Now, i started the race first. Instantly took off and finished the race with a 42 second lead (Also, 0 inc).

I am by no means the best driver on iRacing, there were a few crashes from the guys behind me (not on me, thankfully) so that explains some of the time. But i was still consistently pulling out a gap.

The biggest problem i found with leading a race, is it's boring. Unless you have 2nd right up your chuff. My mind started to wander, how far ahead am i now? what's my best lap time? OH CRAP BRAKE.

So, please qualify, it'll make the experience more fun for you. And pay attention when leading a race!