rfactor 2/Sim Racing for a complete newbie

Hi all

I'm a keen motorsport fan generally and quite fancy installing rFactor 2 and doing a little bit of sim racing but before I do I wonder if anyone could point me in the right direction of where to start.

So I say Im a complete newbie, I did briefly do a few races in GTR Legends a few years back but couldn't commit to the time.

I have a computer, hopefully powerful enough to run rFactor reasonably well but I'm going to try the demo to be sure. I also have a G27 wheel gathering dust for a while that I plan to reconnect.

With regards to racing I need to start right at the beginning, I don't want to be responsible for taking out professionals but it would be nice to start right at the beginning and then work my way up a little.

The other thing is time, I have very little of it so I need something really that isn't too time consuming in terms of the racing. With GTR Legends league I tried there was lots of testing, qualifying and racing that consumed a fair few hours a week. Ideally I would like something I could do on a Saturday or Sunday night for an hour or two a week. Unfortunately I have a child to look after and work full time so that adds to my difficulty.

Really appreciate any help on how to get started

Hi Chris,

there are a few categories of sim racers. The need loads of practise to get around the track, the load of practise to be fast, the never practise crashers, the never practise but right from the start fastest (we call the aliens :alien:) and the I cannot win so I quit.
I have no idea in which one you would fit into.
I am the one that needs the practise to be mid field fast and never quits even if I finish last with 10 laps from the leader.
I also haven't time on my side. I also work full time, got two kids and a wife and I am a staff member here at RD which costs more time than you would imagine. That time I cannot drive, but make it possible for others to drive. :D