RBR noob, advice please :)

Hi guys :)

I'm a long time sim driver (rfactor, iracing, GSC) but have only just decided to give RBR a go and am looking for some beginners advice please. I've mainly been playing around tweaking the FFB and getting comfy with the way the game works using the default cars, but am loving it so far! It really is a refreshing challenge after the other sims I've played.

I now have RSRBR all installed and working fine, but want to know what cars you recommend so I can learn the tracks properly as the default cars are pretty quick and I want to work my way up to the faster cars. I've tried the S2000 Fiesta which was nice, but still too fast. Perhaps a good FWD car?

Thanks for your help! Once I've got some confidence, I hope to join in the RDRC fun :D

I've just started the RDRC at round 7. I've played the game for about 3 years prior, but I choose to do the 2WD cup so that I can become a better driver. The British championship switched to 2WD and former 4WD champion Keith Cronin said here that mistakes in a FWD car cause more time loss. I find it harder to make a fast time in a 2WD car than in a 4WD car because I have to drive really perfect; my time's are either good or bad.

The reason you have to be so perfect (especially on loose surfaces) is because weight is transferred to the rear, but the power's going to the front wheels which have less grip. So when you apply to much throttle and get wheel spin, it takes about twice as long for it to regain grip as a 4WD car. To avoid this, you have to be neat and tidy so as to keep the car balanced and ready to power out.

So to finally answer your question, yes start with a FWD car. I've been driving one because of the championship for about a month, and when I hopped back into a 4WD car I was setting fast times after my second run! By all means, PM me if you want any more 2WD advice.

By the way, if you finish all of the stages, you'll get a good result.