Racing with AI ; (new to assetto corsa)

manu68

Premium
Hi,
It is probably not a totally new thread, but I am about totally new to assetto corsa and would have like to clear some aspect with AI.

What is your favorite / recommanded setting for AI in assetto corsa ?
I mean speed, agressivity.
I am a "normal" racer, not especially quick on the track.
What is then a "normal" AI config

I don't have much experience with assetto corsa, and I am not especially a quick racer on track. But I have some experience of online / offline simracing with various sims, and I have been a little surprised with the AI within assetto corsa

Yesterday I made a first quick attempt at Zandvoort on GT3 against the AI.
First race on the track , first race on the car with stock setup except quick gear box change to 252 km top speed to fit the track , first race ever against AI on assetto corsa (it makes a lot of first !)
I could manage to follow the pack easily and even win the 8 laps race strating last at AI speed of about 88%.
(Race lap pace 1:40 / 1:41 ; stock setup with the porsche 911 GT3 R to give you an idea of my pace ; It was only possible to overtake the AI where it is indeed possible to do so and not just everywhere on the track !)

But at AI speed 98%, it seems to me that the AI are just impossible to follow.
Race laps in about 1:36 / 1:37, which seems to me about impossible to achieve even with a better setup. They just fly away, bye bye !

Do you really can race against AI at 98-100% speed ?
Is it normal to have to set the racing AI speed at about 90% to have a nice racing challenge against the AI ?

Except that, and at my level, I have a very nice racing experience with the AI.
Maybe not as interesting and more predictable as real human drivers, but really cool and really challenging.

It is just for me to know, in case I want to practice for a real online race and have an idea of what the average pace should be