RaceDept, and the choice of sims - from a noobish perspective

Helloo.

Hope this is the right place for this... Please keep in mind I am a racing noob. Like... 30 seconds slower lap times type of noob. Still. I asked a few questions here ages ago about rfactor2, and hid ever since because the whole sim racing genre and leagues and things is pretty intimidating to a racing-noob like me - both in the ability of the racers, and the choice of sim and mod! And it kind of put me off a bit to be honest because I didn't know which one to concentrate on.
I would like to become part of a big-ish community - for example I don't want to get in to playing say.. Race07, if it's pretty much dead in the global world of sim leagues and such! I would like to be part of a biggish community, (this one in particular, being more EU-based) and try to concentrate on the popular sim, the one that people forsee playing for years to come. Does such a thing exist at this moment in time? I bought rfactor2 ages ago and it doesn't seem to have taken off, with very little interest, leagues or numbers of signups. So I feel like I wasted my cash there. I love how cars feel in it though, but will it ever be in a fit state for the sim racing world at large to adopt??? I have looked at the calendar to try to gauge interest levels in different games/sims by the number of signups but it's hard to tell.

So really I am after some guidance as to which sim I should concentrate on/buy, with which mod(s)?