F1 2013 Please Help A Noob

F1 2013 The Game (Codemasters)
Hi everyone, I am new to F1 2013 and have it on my PC on Steam. I am playing with a brand new Xbox 360 controller (my old controller's throttle seemed to be a bit too powerful and the controller itself was rather dusty and so I got a new one).

Anyway, as I am a complete newbie to this game and generally quite rubbish at racing games I am playing on the lowest difficulty setting with all assists on/set to their highest setting and brake control set to full.

I am on day 2 of the young driver test and I'm really, really struggling to pass the evaluation test where you have to complete two laps of the Abu Dhabi track in under 3:50. This seems nigh-on impossible for me and I'm always over by a few seconds, even when sticking to the suggested racing line.

Now I know most people here will suggest turning off some of the assists or using an actual wheel (which I don't have), such as the auto-brake function (or whatever it's called) but I wanted to see if you can complete this test using all the assists.

The car I am using I think is a Red Bull car (the blue one with the Infiniti logo?), so I don't know if this a bad car to use for this test or not.

Am I so bad at this game that I can't finish this one evaluation test or is it always going to be impossible using all the assists etc?

I know it might be a case of practicing but I've tried this damn test about 20 times and I just can't get anywhere near the required time. Please somebody help me!!

The red bull is a good car, so that won't be the issue. The auto braking assist slows you down massively i find. If you are using all assists you should have the racing line on. Follow that, and brake when it turns red. I'm sure once you get the hang of that you'll be able to pass the test.