F1 2010 Pace Difference: Auto Gear vs. Manual Gears

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
So I was wondering: How much of a difference does manual gears make? I've never tried manual gears before, and I can't help but wonder if it holds my pace back at all? I see these crazy times on TT and on some of the vids you guys post here, and it seems like the quicker times are done by those using manual gears.

Also, I use an xbox controller; to what extent is a wheel/pedals faster? The only thing I can think of is that you can be much smoother with a wheel than you can with a controller, but besides that I'm not too sure.

The reason why I'm asking is because I'd love to join a racing club on here, but I'd rather be as quick as I can before I get competitive.

Thanks for your input.

Wheel and pedals is quicker. and will allow you to drive with less assists which is more immersive and will help you get batter faster.
I'm still on auto box and you can be competitive with it. Can;t speak authoritatively on manual box, but I get the feeling that once proficient you can brake later due to downshifting - engine braking. Its for next season for me.
Re the racing. Get into some club racing as soon as you can, great fun. A good test of your pace is to compare your time to the pole sitter in GP mode quali on Legend AI. The fastest guys are less than 1 sec faster than that as a guide.

I switched to manual a few weeks back & it's been great fun. I have even more appreciation for real F1.

I find that I learn the tracks a lot faster now.
I've beaten 80% of my previous AUTO times. But there are a few which I can't come close to?

I highly recommend going manual if using a wheel :)

Can't wait for F12011

There are numerous advantages to manual over auto, the 2 main ones I can think of are to use the gears to aid braking into and during corners.