Overclocking 2070 doesn't appear to make any difference in fps

Using MSI afterburner.

NOT adjusting core voltage.
Increasing power limit to max
Core clock +115
Memory clock +500

Just going by in-game displayed fps, I am gaining nothing in AC or ACC.
Seems strange to me that it does not appear to be helping anything.

Using latest custom shader in AC, and enabling AMD FX, I do get some gain in fps.

Am I expecting too much from the over clock, or doing something in correctly?

Thanks!

Might be a CPU bottleneck then?
Yeah, but the other thing to do is check what Afterburner says is limiting the GPU. If it's voltage, there's your answer. If it was power (on the default settings), then raising the power limit should have helped. If it's the CPU that is the bottleneck of course, then the GPU may not be limited by either voltage or power.
Caveat: I'm a noob at GPU-overclocking ;)

Upvote 0
Using MSI afterburner.

NOT adjusting core voltage.
Increasing power limit to max
Core clock +115
Memory clock +500

Just going by in-game displayed fps, I am gaining nothing in AC or ACC.
Seems strange to me that it does not appear to be helping anything.

Using latest custom shader in AC, and enabling AMD FX, I do get some gain in fps.

Am I expecting too much from the over clock, or doing something in correctly?

Thanks!
Check the following things:

1. Is your GPU load above 95%? If it's below, you're CPU bottlenecked and the 2070 OC won't do anything.
  2. If your GPU load is above 95%, you need to make sure that you actually gain real core clock from the OC:
    1. You need to detach the graph at the bottom of afterburner (I'm using the old skin, not sure how it looks on the latest skin with the full re-design...).
    2. Check what LIMIT is triggered while playing AC.
      1. Power Limit: you need to either raise power limit or undervolt to get clock headroom with the same power consumption.