Overclock advice

Overclocking won't perform miracles but it should help you gain a few fps giving a smoother experience.

Though I have no experience with your cpu or mb, there are plenty of guides for o/c'ing the FX series on YouTube.

Watch as many different guides as you feel you need. Before you start you need to know the maximum safe temp and max safe voltage for your cpu.

The cooler you linked to is definitely an improvement over the stock cooler and should give you some extra thermal headroom, but if your budget can stretch to it the Coolermaster Evo 212 is rated as one of the best budget coolers and should be good for 4-4.5ghz. Also, as you will be generating more heat inside the case you may want to add an intake fan if needed.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Cooler-Master-Heatpipes-Connector-RR-212E-16PK-R1/dp/B0068OI7T8
(shop around, you may find a better deal)

I would always recommend updating to the latest bios for your motherboard, see Gigabyte's download section.

you will need something to monitor your temp's and voltages. For this I would recommend Hw Info. (portable version, local US)

https://www.hwinfo.com/download.php

The recommended stress test for o/c'ing fx cpu's is a program called Prime '95. This puts all cores under 100% load, which not only tests for stability but also gets the thing running at it's hottest. This is necessary as you are ultimately looking for either the thermal limit or stable limit for your cpu.
you need to sign up, but it's free and can be uninstalled afterwards.

https://www.mersenne.org/download/

Remember that overclocks depend on many things, case temps, room temps, silicon quality etc and that everyone's experience will vary. Good luck man!

Last edited: