Newbie question: how to... brake?

NickB

Premium
Hi there, this is my first post after having been lurking on the forum for a few weeks! I'm a newbie simracer (on GTR Evo for now, after having been a big fan of NFS Porsche Unleashed back in the days), and the posts here have been incredibly helpful to me.

So here is my first (and probably not last!) dumb question: how to properly brake? I find it very difficult to brake without locking the wheels, to find the right pressure on the pedal to get maximum braking efficiency. Because of the lack of feedback, I find it much harder than in a real car/kart. You guys have any tips? An example of a corner I have great trouble with is the first right at the end of the big straight at Anderstrop.

I use a G25 and Evo 'pro' mode without any aid.

Thanks a lot!

Nick

I find it helps to gently apply and lift off the brake. Also helps lifting off slightly every time you change down with just a small blip on the throttle, you should only apply full brake for a little amount of time too otherwise you'll lock straight up.

Hope that's at least a little helpful - I tried xD.

What you could do to make the feedback better is put the forcefeedback effects settings on Max in the advanced controller settings in game, then you get more feedback from the tires.
And you should make sure that in the windows gamecontroller settings, you uncheck the box with use combined axis (dont know for sure if this is what it's called I dont have an english windows) this way you can use brake and throttle at the same time :nod: This helps to keep the car stable under braking.

I'd make the settings like this, (degrees is yer own preferation tho):

Dedrees @ 692 is impossible with G25. G25 does steps of 20 deg. This screenie is from a setup screen for DFGT.
22529_bc9c8132.jpg

Yes it's in Dutch, but the English one is in the same order.