Newbie looking for advice

I am completely new to all forms of sim racing. In the past i have only ever played arcadey racers, like the F1, Dirt, WRC games etc.

I have spent a few hours this weekend getting the hang of it and am using no assists whatsoever to get a grip of it from the off. I am now up to this level, where i am lapping 1:58/1:59s consistenyl in the FOrmula Abarth at Monza. From what i can see, the fastest laps with this combo seem to be 1:50/1:51ish.

I am hoping this is a sign of geting the hang of it quickly and making progress to be within 7/8 seconds of the fastest time already, and that is with stock setup and am yet to even tinker with the car's setup.

Looking for any obvious pointers that experience people can pick up from this video where i am making newbie mistakes :)

Thanks!

First, pls post a video in cockpit view, makes it way easier to identify what you're doing. Second, take all corners more tightly (Turn 3), and the obvious one: 'don't lock up your tyres'. Sacrifice the corner entry for a faster exit, especially important on Monza.

Edit:
before we even get to racing line and etc., are you sure you got optimal wheel /FFB settings? What racing hardware do you have? Did you look up corresponting wheel setting threads? If you change ffb settings, you're gonna have to learn to drive from the start all over again.
Further, I recommend practicing with another combo, than a formula car on Monza. Formula cars in AC drive like on rails and give you a false sense of security - they give out handling information sparingly and way too late to counteract properly. Take a slower car with a just a little bit of downforce like a Lotus 2 Eleven or even a GT3 car or the Lotus Evora GTC, these are easy ones to drive.
Monza is deceptively difficult to drive, I'd recommend Mugello or the Nürburgring. Both feature greater corner variety making them better testing venues.

Last edited:
Here is the cockpit view of my average 1:59.0 lap.