New to sim racing looking for advice

Hi Everyone,

I am brand new to sim racing and to these forums and I have been looking into investing in to my own rig. I have been looking at the P1-X or Trakracer R80. However, I am still looking in to which model to go ahead with. Hopefully some of you more experienced racers could help me answer a couple of questions I have?

1) Most of the rigs I have been looking at online have key board trays attached to the profile, are these worth having at all?

2) What do you mainly use button boxes for? In most of the previous rigs I have driven I ended up mapped buttons to the steering wheel for brakes/ DRS etc. Just wanted to see if theirs any advantages in investing into a button box set up?

Sorry for what is probably very basic questions, but looking to understand what would give me the right kind of set up. As the price quickly jumps up even before pedals, wheel etc lol

any advise on if these are worthwhile ?

Sorry if this is posted in the wrong place

Hi Butler,

I hope you don't mind an inexperienced racer replying. I bought the P1-X two months ago. This was my first rig, so I can't compare to anything else.

I'd say the beauty of it is that it's modular and these decisions don't need to be made at the point of purchase.

I don't have a keyboard try, but have a low table next to the rig that I put the keyboard and mouse on when racing. I definitely think you need access to the keyboard and mouse, but don't feel I miss a swivel tray. Additionally as I share the PC for working during the day and gaming in the evenings, I just move the keyboard and mouse from my desk to the table when needed.