Need help making the best choice in hardware

Hi everyone,

Firstly,

I'd like to introduce myself so that way you can understand and have a better comprehension of how my situation is right now.

I'm a part-time student/part-time worker, and after working with my father this summer he's going to pay me a good amount of money. I've always had the dream of being a F1 driver but obviously I know that is impossible right now due to my age (18) which is super late to get somewhere near.

Since I got my car driving license, I find myself willing to enjoy this "talent" that I might have of driving cars fast but that's where things start to fall apart.

As I mentioned earlier, I'm finishing my last year of High School and hopefully in the space of a year I'll be moving to the mainland to continue my education, therefore I cannot take any hardware with me.

So, let's start with the games first:

Right now, I own a medium range desktop which can play almost every game at a modest framerate, but if communities are bigger in the console environment I wouldn't mind buying one but that would definitely hurt my wheel budget.

I'm a huge fan of F1, and last year I bought F1 2016 and I played it for about 70/80 hours. I'm looking forward to buying F1 2017 but not right now because it's still quite expensive for my student wallet... I own Project Cars and Dirt Rally too, both which I didn't play much because they're quite hard to play with a controller.

If I enjoy using a wheel, I might buy PC2 and/or Assetto Corsa to play but I'm more of a Multiplayer guy.

So, if someone could suggest me any game that I can play "competitively" and/or "jump right in, play a quick race online and leave" I'd be grateful. I just want something that I can feel an improvement in playing or somewhere I can play in a League at any hour and have fun, or a game that has a big community to play with like F1 in PS4.

Now, onto the hardware: