Need help and faq please !

Hi all. I have been playing driving games for many years, but pretty recent to the pc ones and even more recently using a wheel and pedals.
My questions and favours are as follows:
I am in Scotland, so UK folks maybe better to answer, but all welcome.
I would like to meet up with people for some training/lessons and tips. I can host a ded server if needed. I am new, but i do know the courses and corners, but i'm getting a bit frustrated being overtaken all over the place (not just by skill, but plain car power). I use set ups that users have uploaded for the community, but can't seem to get any faster. I find my lap times are the same as the fastest quali times during the race, but quali itself is a few secs off the pace ! And why does the track and screen sometimes lean to the left or right ? I mean extremely, not just a head tilt.
The steering and brakes are pretty naff so far, but could be my settings hopefully, otherwise as a sim, this isn't adding up to be as good as i expected. I have steering full up etc etc. This is why i would love to meet up with some of you. Probably not major pros that just show off at this stage, lol, but good novice to semi-pro racers. Pro are welcome so long as advice given is polite and not with the "i'm better than you" attitude that i have come across from time to time.
Hope i hear from some of you soon, and let me know your steam id if u have one.
Thanks all.

You know your more than welcome to ask questions here!

Also when you say your off pace off pace compared to whom? brake wise you want your bias so that neither the front are locking up or the rear, you can easily check this your self via replays.

As for the tilting have you altered the gforce setting?

An other good point would be to sign up to some of the racing events held here at RD. All RD members are very helpfull ande will during the practise give you as many pointers as you want.