My equipment is dreadful, I have hardly any money and no idea where to begin

I've been messing with sims on and off for around ten years. I've never been much good at them, certainly not enough to get on the track with other humans (I'd rather not race at all than be one of those pubbies people write horror stories about), but I do enjoy turning laps in Assetto Corsa or running hill climb stages at a relaxed "rich guy playing with his new sports car" pace. However, I'm (a) not really satisfied with tooling around like a grandma anymore and (b) my equipment, such as it is, is making it extremely difficult and, as I pass 30, physically painful to add pace to my driving.

I don't have any rig per se. I keep a complete Logitech G27 system in my closet and, when I want to drive, I push my keyboard back against the base of my monitor and clamp the wheel base down onto the lip of the desk. When I was 24, this was awkward but doable, though I gave up on trying to figure out the H shifter because the part I would clamp it onto (a slide-out tray originally meant to write a letter on, because this desk predates the invention of the PC by several decades) would wobble and shift around as I attempted to move the shift lever. At 30, it hurts. My right leg and ankle ache from fighting gravity, and as I get tired I lose the ability to accurately modulate the throttle because my leg just wants to give up and floor it. The wheel, pedals, and monitor never quite line up. I have one 30" monitor (LG 3840x2160 75Hz IPS, not fast, but I spend 80% of my time with it doing things that aren't video games and the screen is beautiful) and no room for additional ones as my audio rig (DAC, amplifier, external MIDI) and computer tower occupy the right half of the desk, and if I were to eat the massive bill for a new GPU and displays I'd just go VR and not have my view cut up like I'm driving a 1948 Hudson.