Media Gallery Update Tonight

Bram Hengeveld

Site Founder
Staff
Premium
After 00:00 GMT on Saturday 19 July we'll be installing the latest version of our gallery software. It can happen that from time to time the board will be offline for a few minutes.

I assume your media gallery uses Flash for video playback as I can't watch them on my phone. I didn't have this problem prior to the latest KitKat update which I realized after the fact that Flash is not supported any longer.
Does anyone know of a way to play flash in a browser on the latest Android OS (Apple iOS doesn't support Flash either)?
It's great that there is a resource like this on RD but the technology used for video playback is going away, unless I am overlooking something.

Thanks

I am no phone expert but as far as I know it's only Apple that can't handle flash.

Just tested the gallery on my Bramsung S2 with Android and videos play fine, actually better than yesterday as they are now fully responsive and fit the screen perfect.

Android was fine until the latest OS - KitKat, and I don't think there will be anymore support going forward. The first issue is with Adobe, which long ago ended support of Flash on mobile devices. RD isn't the only place I (and many other Android and Apple users) cannot see Flash content, too bad but technology is constantly changing/evolving.

PS, I have been working in the IT field for many years, the moving technology target is a daily challenge.

Android was fine until the latest OS - KitKat, and I don't think there will be anymore support going forward. The first issue is with Adobe, which long ago ended support of Flash on mobile devices. RD isn't the only place I (and many other Android and Apple users) cannot see Flash content, too bad but technology is constantly changing/evolving.

PS, I have been working in the IT field for many years, the moving technology target is a daily challenge.