PC1 Little to no FFB when driving over Curbs

Yesterday I decided to delete my local install of pCARS and have Steam install it from scratch. Among the things I wanted to fix were the graphics (I was having real issues with stagger and artifacts that I had never experienced before) and the FFB. Especially the almost total lack of any feedback when driving over bumpy road or especially over curbs.

The graphic issues took care of themselves. The game looks a lot better. But still I am unable to get any feeling when I drive over curbs or off the edge of the tarmac. I have a Thrustmaster T500.

By comparison, even the oldest of my sims gives me good feedback and even acts upon the steering. in pCARS I can be driving over those Curbs that have the sawteeth at the outside edge and I might as well be on a newly paved road.

I was reading somewhere that it can be fixed. Can it?
I have tried increasing/decreasing a bunch of settings both at the WHeel and in game, to no avail.

While I am at it, what does "Controller Input Mode" do in the controlled settings and why is it set at 3? Is it some sort of filter for handheld controllers?

If I recall correctly, FFB over curbs is something both Ben and Nic wanted improved and AJ (the man behind the new tire model) said he would be looking in to getting more rattle and whatnot to come through when going over curbs.

When it comes to tweaking it yourself, there was a very recent change to move what was previously in the FFB tweaker files into tweakable values in game, but I don't know if the UI has been fully set up for that, so right now tweaking isn't possible (give it a week and everything should be in, I'd guess).

Controller input mode is indeed for gamepads.