Leader car AI is a cheater!

Sorry to open a new thread but since I am new to AC and still learning, I was a Gran turismo fan but wanted something more realistic and AC is just perfect. And the MOD community is just awesome.

Looked online for this issue seams to be known, so let me just vent some steam with you guys.

The AI is this game is BAD, I know this is mostly an online game but for those of us that just want to enjoy a career mode is just a letdown.

My main issue is with the leader car, if you dont overtake it in the first corners and let it out of your sight you will never catch him.

this isn't to simulate anything this is just an old trick in the book for AI programming used in a lot of games, if you cant see the AI car the system just gives him a boost or aid, cheating in fact.
I remember gran turismo doing the same thing.

just notice if you cant see him in the distance or the dot on the map the leader car just vanishes, I had as much as 30 sec gap.

If you do overtake him in the first corners you can just cruise and they will never overtake you.

This is just a huge letdown.

I can forgive the ram the AI gives you some times but this just forces you to be super aggressive in the first corners gambling to overtake as soon as possible to then just cruise around a race track with no real challenge.

Sorry to open a new thread but since I am new to AC and still learning, I was a Gran turismo fan but wanted something more realistic and AC is just perfect. And the MOD community is just awesome.

Looked online for this issue seams to be known, so let me just vent some steam with you guys.

The AI is this game is BAD, I know this is mostly an online game but for those of us that just want to enjoy a career mode is just a letdown.

My main issue is with the leader car, if you dont overtake it in the first corners and let it out of your sight you will never catch him.