Interview with Simon Smith

Dan Long

2018 RD GPC Champion - #3 RiP
So to liven things up I thought we could have a interview with our commentator friend Si Smith who does all the Live stuff for PSR RDLMS coverage. Here is how the interview went!

1. What has been your most rememorable moment of the RDLMS S1 that we had finish just recently and why did you choose this?

I have to say it was laughing at my own little team. BackMarker Brigade, a team I've been running for several years has always been a team that will struggle on in the face of adversity. Much like Minardi, my favourite F1 team, BMB is all about just having a passion to race and enjoy yourself. I never really look at overall speed, its competance, respect, politeness and passion. Having said that, 60 laps down made me proud in ways it really shouldn't have!

The RDLMS series though was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. I'd not commentated for such long periods of times before although I'd raced for many hours on the trot. I was worried it would become processional but as the final race in Sebring showed, anything can happen right down to the wire. It was a privilege and a joy to be part of the series and long may it continue!
2. What is your favourite race of all time (real motorsports) and what made you think this as your fav?

I am big carnage fan. Monaco 1996 sticks in my head as I'm a big Olivier Panis fan. I have no idea why though. I used to pick names on the TV screen that I thought sounded cool as a kid and say things like "Look Dad, I want to be a Katayama!!!" and start walking around steering myself shouting "I'm Ukyo and I'm in the gravel" and "call me Lamy...Pedro Lamy". Also Europe 1999 for me was a fantastic race, I was watching it on Youtube just last week and even though I know exactly what happens, I was still on the edge of my seat screaming "nooo not Badoer!" From a Minardi purist point of view it was one the best and most heartbreaking races I've watched.