Hungarian GP: Hamilton tops final Hungaroring practice

Discussion in 'Formula 1' started by Jack Hunsley, Jul 25, 2015.

  1. Jack Hunsley

    Jack Hunsley


    Lewis Hamilton heads into today's qualifying session as the driver to beat after the Brit completed a clean sweep of Free Practice sessions after just pipping Nico Rosberg to top spot on Saturday morning.

    Hamilton was the only driver on the grid to drop into the 1:22s as his run on the soft tyre put him a tenth clear of his team mate, and roughly on the pace Rosberg set in last years qualifying session. Meanwhile, whilst Rosberg was able to get close to Hamilton for the first time this weekend, a late stoppage at the end of the pit lane will do little to boost his confidence going into qualifying.

    In third place was Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel who ended the session eight tenths adrift of the Mercedes, but will still be happier than team mate Kimi Raikkonen who had to crawl back to the pits at the start of his qualifying simulation with a so far undiagnosed issue.

    Daniil Kvyat continued Red Bull's good form this season as he put his car 4th overall, just ahead of Carlos Sainz Jr. who endured a scruffy session on his way into the top five. Nico Hulkenberg gave Force India hope after they missed yesterday's second practice session on safety grounds after Sergio Perez's spectacular crash with 6th, whilst Verstappen, a resurgent Alonso, Ricciardo and Romain Grosjean rounded off the top ten.

    In the bottom half of the field Williams continued their tough weekend on route to 12th and 14th for Massa and Bottas respectively, Button will take some comfort with 13th place even if the Brit was almost half a second slower than his team mate, whilst the two Manor's propped up the table; a whole 2.7 seconds slower than Ericsson in 18th.

    Hungarian GP Practice 3 Official Results

    1. Lewis Hamilton - Mercedes - 1:22.997
    2. Nico Rosberg - Mercedes - 1:23.095
    3. Sebastian Vettel - Ferrari - 1:23.886
    4. Daniil Kvyat - Red Bull - 1:24.215
    5. Carlos Sainz Jr. - Toro Rosso - 1:24.326
    6. Nico Hulkenberg - Force India - 1:24.483
    7. Max Verstappen - Toro Rosso - 1:24.678
    8. Fernando Alonso - McLaren - 1:24.846
    9. Daniel Ricciardo - Red Bull - 1:24.929
    10. Romain Grosjean - Lotus - 1:24.941
    11. Pastor Maldonado - Lotus - 1:24.953
    12. Felipe Massa - Williams - 1:25.094
    13. Jenson Button - McLaren - 1:25.229
    14. Valtteri Bottas - Williams - 1:25.345
    15. Sergio Perez - Force India - 1:25.393
    16. Kimi Raikkonen - Ferrari - 1:25.661
    17. Felipe Nasr - Sauber - 1:26.060
    18. Marcus Ericsson - Sauber - 1:26.095
    19. Will Stevens - Manor - 1:28.757
    20. Roberto Merhi - Manor - 1:28.908
    • Like Like x 2
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.