F1 2019 How would you go about creating great custom helmets?

F1 2019 The Game (Codemasters)
Hi everyone. New to the game and the modding community. I've recently discovered you can create helmets. I have little photoshop experience (but I do own it) and I'm struggling to create this kind of helmet (I dont want to replicate it exactly - chiefly, replace AGV logo with Alfa logos and get rid of flag/"thriller").

I'm using Jburon's template, which is Devon Butler's helmet, but I don't quite understand how to go from that base to this very different looking design. Where do I source the texture, the shapes, etc.? Also, that template makes it nearly impossible to place a logo (or anything) where the AGV logo is (middle-top of helmet) in the pic. Is there a workaround? Or is it just trial and error? Cause I've been trying for 2hours to place an Alfa logo there and I'm getting nowhere near adequate (and frankly adequate won't cut it). I saw gallus' attempt at placing the logo there, and it's impressive but still not faultless...

I've watched a few Krisdix vids, and I've only seen him use pre-made designs.

How do you go from a basic design/wireframe and end up with a masterpiece? What are the steps? Even just tips would be appreciated.

D: Pls help.

I'm in exactly the same boat! I've been trying to get things crisp and in place but seems to be a lot of trial and error. I'm not sure if people are making these outside of photoshop and then importing?

I can't seem to get anyone to respond to any questions regarding this though!