F1 2010 How to compensate the fuel sim (without turning it off ofcourse)

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
Since this is my first post, I want to start by thanking all the contributors to this forum for posting solutions, setup and other information. I find this forum a great source of information for any F1 racer. Keep it up guys!

Now my question is simple really. I am a n00b driver and not yet in possession of a wheel. So I find myself in my first career year consistently in the back of the field. This is not a problem for me, since I drive a Lotus I find it realistic :)
However, because of the setups in this forum I can qualify consistently between 11th - 15th place. But in the race I fall back 6 - 7 places losing almost 3 - 4 seconds per lap, with the same setup that gave me 11th -15th place in Qual! This is ridiculous!!

I have all assists on, as well as fuel and tyre sim and drive 100% race distance. So I know the problem lies with the fuel sim.
I have tried to balance the car a bit by giving it more wing, higher anti-roll bars during the race, so the car won't miss the turns and slide through them. Still this does hardly improve my performance.

So first off, can I change my qual setup to compensate for the fuel sim? If so, what is the best way to do it?
If not I have to wait for my wheel, which allows me to turn off driving aids and post faster laps.

Cheers, Leon

Theres not too much you can do about the handling of the car with fuel sim on, its obviously not going to drive as well on a full tank in comparsion to a quali run due to the weight of the fuel. Its a case of having to accept you will be a second or 2 slower per lap with a full tank im affraid. The only thing i do on occasions is what you have already said, notch up my wings settings slightly.