How do you learn a track?

Hi, I'm relatively new to racing, so far been driving F1 2012 / 2013 only, and just recently acquired AC.

With F1, there are markers w/c help learn braking points more easily. With AC, so far I only try to remember spots in the curbs. What techniques do you employ?

I know different cars have their own characteristics and performance, unlike in F1, so practicing each car's performance is a must, but perhaps you have some common techniques in studying tracks.

Also, I'm using a DFGT and just using the paddle shifters. At what point in the tachometer do you upshift, when the line goes red, midway, or all the way when the gear number turns red?

Finally, when turning in curbs, is it faster to make the car skid slightly but revving hard for the wheels to catch grip, or better off just slowing down and making sure not to skid?

Thanks.

There are several ways to learn new tracks; I had never run new Silverstone or Vallelunga before so I had to learn them....I don't use any apps on screen myself and just treat it like I showed up at the track completely green...I drive a couple laps pretty slowly just to get an idea of what direction the turns go...I start slowly pushing a little more each lap and usually within a handful of laps I at least know the basic layout and where the fast sweepers are and the slow hairpins.

Once I know the basic turns of the track I hotlap with a ghost and use my ghost to work on figuring out what is the best line, braking point, etc in any given turn....I usually run out of talent long before I am at the limits of the car but not much I can do about that other than at least get consistent making laps within a few tenths of my best speed.