Help with Skinning!

Hello guys!

For the first time I want paint a Huracan GT3 but the template don't have a "paint here" layer for the base color like the other cars have. So when I try to change the base color from white to any other color, the brush paints everything turning the template into a solid coloured image.

How can I paint the base of the car without painting everything else?

PS: I use photoshop!

• Deleted member 130869

Create a new layer (Ctrl+Shift+N) and paint on that one :thumbsup:

@kilder

Like Gui said, create a new layer above the AO layer, paint to it and change the mode (or what ever it's called) to multiply from the dropdown menu at the top of the layers window, next to opacity.

@kilder

Like Gui said, create a new layer above the AO layer, paint to it and change the mode (or what ever it's called) to multiply from the dropdown menu at the top of the layers window, next to opacity.
I'm an amateur skinner and I have always done the opposite (AO to multiply, all other layers below) is there an advantage to doing it the other way around or different strokes for different folks?

I'm an amateur skinner and I have always done the opposite (AO to multiply, all other layers below) is there an advantage to doing it the other way around or different strokes for different folks?

You're actually right, it can be done that way too. Never tried before. I just learned it the way I told from some expert a long time ago. Don't know if there's any benefits either way though.

Edit. But in both cases the key is to change layer mode to multiply.

Last edited:

You're actually right, it can be done that way too. Never tried before. I just learned it the way I told from some expert a long time ago. Don't know if there's any benefits either way though.

Edit. But in both cases the key is to change layer mode to multiply.