Have Your Say: Force Feedback Expectations

Paul Jeffrey

Premium
Have Your Say - Force Feedback.jpg

Welcome to the weekend people! It's Saturday so that can only mean one thing.. Have Your Say returns!

Well the ball is really starting to roll with reader submissions following our last couple of successful 'Have Your Say' articles, and this next one I suspect will be no different. Submitted by our very own @Rupe Wilson, today we would like to talk about Force Feedback (FFB), and the expectation of sim racers when it comes to how a car feels through our add on peripherals...

This is what I received from Rupe and I think he makes a very interesting point, and something for which I think deserves further discussion amongst the community:

"As I do read articles and posts to try and keep up on the latest stuff games and tech it seems there is such a big difference in what people expect/understand as to what is ffb in a wheel.

Now I know I'm no ffb expert but I know what I like from driving other sims / or know what im used to and anything new seems wrong. Is it wrong or just different..?

Again this is all down to personnel preference. I've tried settings where there is that much centre spring and damping its unreal and masked any real feeling you get from the tyres, I've tried settings for my wheel with everything maxed and everything on minimum and it was so bad it was worse than driving with no ffb..

Do we have an actual answer say from a dev as to what the game is supposed to tell you or try and relate to you through your wheel..? (I bet me included will be in for a surprise on what they say) what is canned and what is real, what is needed and what's for show and wow factor..
Why do we even have canned effects...? What do you want to feel with your wheel that allows you to drive better... what's your ffb style?"
So for today the subject of our latest 'Have Your Say' article is this: